Recommend
4 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Empire of the Sun» Forums » Rules

Subject: Declaring battle hexes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
1. 6.24 says that battle hexes are declared after all Offensive movement, but other rules suggest that they can exist during Offensive movement (e.g 7.44). Which is it?

2. 7.12 says that if a ground unit enters a battle hex it becomes a battle hex! Is this supposed to say what happens if a ground unit enters a hex occupied by an enemy ground unit?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Good to see you again Mr. Dickens!

beresford wrote:
1. 6.24 says that battle hexes are declared after all Offensive movement, but other rules suggest that they can exist during Offensive movement (e.g 7.44). Which is it?


I don't know what to say about 7.44, but I have always played as Battle Hexes are declared after all movement by the offensive player.

Quote:
2. 7.12 says that if a ground unit enters a battle hex it becomes a battle hex! Is this supposed to say what happens if a ground unit enters a hex occupied by an enemy ground unit?


I have that exact crossout in my book on 7.12. Either somebody said it was so, or I assumed it was so.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Mark. I thought I'd spend a little time with this game and so am coming onto the rulebook 'fresh', but I haven't found an official errata for V2.0 (there is a FAQ). Presumably there is an unwritten rule (I haven't found it yet) that if the Offensives player uses an OC card he cannot move such as to create multiple potential battle hexes later on. So I can't create several potential battle hexes and then say at the end of my movement that I am 'declaring' that one.

What have you got pencilled into your rulebook for the following?:

6.25E says 'cannot be neutralised, see 5.22'. 5.22 says nothing relating to non-neutralisation, you have to go to the AZOI Glossary entry for this important piece of information.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
beresford wrote:
Thanks Mark. I thought I'd spend a little time with this game and so am coming onto the rulebook 'fresh', but I haven't found an official errata for V2.0 (there is a FAQ). Presumably there is an unwritten rule (I haven't found it yet) that if the Offensives player uses an OC card he cannot move such as to create multiple potential battle hexes later on. So I can't create several potential battle hexes and then say at the end of my movement that I am 'declaring' that one.


You know I never noticed that little problem. I have always read 6.24 to mean that you can't end in more than one enemy occupied hex.It seems to say that in a round about way.

Quote:
What have you got pencilled into your rulebook for the following?:

6.25E says 'cannot be neutralised, see 5.22'. 5.22 says nothing relating to non-neutralisation, you have to go to the AZOI Glossary entry for this important piece of information.


In section 6.25E I have underlined the parenthetical reference to cannot be neutralized. I was apparently confused by this statement. I means that neutralizing Air ZOI doesn't prevent the intelligence die roll modifier.

The rulebook uses the phrase un-neutralized from time to time. I don't know what else to tell you.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
How much stuff have you got pencilled in your rulebook? I'm wondering if we should have an Unofficial Errata to v2.0 on BGG since there are no official errata. I believe I have five or six candidates (which aren't typos or misplaced punctuation) for such an errata.

I've noticed something I pointed out several years ago is still not in an official errata, the misleading statement in 8.3 that 'Only non-CV naval units in the battle hex are considered for this calculation'.

How about 12.85 where it says 'not occupied by opposing units'? Do we think this should be 'GROUND units'?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Evans
United States
Berlin
New Hampshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
beresford wrote:
How much stuff have you got pencilled in your rulebook? I'm wondering if we should have an Unofficial Errata to v2.0 on BGG since there are no official errata. I believe I have five or six candidates (which aren't typos or misplaced punctuation) for such an errata.


Not too much penciled in, But some significant clarifications. Not quite like Clash of Monarchs, where the penciling is quite significant. Or Reds! OMG that game needs editing. Anyways, I digress. No official errata beyond what you have. Mark is a regular poster on this forum, so most of what he says is taken as official, though technically it is not.

Quote:
I've noticed something I pointed out several years ago is still not in an official errata, the misleading statement in 8.3 that 'Only non-CV naval units in the battle hex are considered for this calculation'.


I rewrote that sentence in my book. "The only non-CV naval units considered for this calculation are those in the battle hex". My own clarification, nothing official.

Quote:
How about 12.85 where it says 'not occupied by opposing units'? Do we think this should be 'GROUND units'?


Probably, I never noticed that one before.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
beresford wrote:
1. 6.24 says that battle hexes are declared after all Offensive movement, but other rules suggest that they can exist during Offensive movement (e.g 7.44). Which is it?

2. 7.12 says that if a ground unit enters a battle hex it becomes a battle hex! Is this supposed to say what happens if a ground unit enters a hex occupied by an enemy ground unit?


As in all wargames there is an explicit sequence of play (6.2). The only time that battle hexes are declared is in step 3. However there are other restrictions such as the last sentence of 7.41 that will automatically create a battle hex in step 3. Basically it stops players from attempting to move through enemy occupied land hexes All timing questions are answered by literally following 6.2 with no exceptions.

As far as 7.12 goes, what you wrote is an incorrect paraphrase of the actual words. The last sentence has an explicit reference to 6.24 that re-states the sequence of play, 6.2.

I hope that helps.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Herman
United States
New York
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
beresford wrote:
How much stuff have you got pencilled in your rulebook? I'm wondering if we should have an Unofficial Errata to v2.0 on BGG since there are no official errata. I believe I have five or six candidates (which aren't typos or misplaced punctuation) for such an errata.

I've noticed something I pointed out several years ago is still not in an official errata, the misleading statement in 8.3 that 'Only non-CV naval units in the battle hex are considered for this calculation'.

How about 12.85 where it says 'not occupied by opposing units'? Do we think this should be 'GROUND units'?


First off there is an official errata sheet: go to www.e-markherman.com

Not sure what the issue is with 8.3, but non carrier units factors that are not in the battle hex are not counted for determine winner. Prevents counting BBs that are escorting CVs at range.

There is no mistake with how 12.85 is worded as HQs and air units would hold the hex and are not technically ground units. Naval units are not an issue as they cannot exist in an enemy controlled port hex.

This game has been out for 7 years and gets a great deal of on-line play, so if there is nothing in the FAQ/errata, then take the rule in its most literal interpretation.

Enjoy,
Mark

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
beresford dickens
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answer on 12.85, Mark (H). The question came about because all similar cases say that a ground unit is required.

I think I can see now what is going on with 8.3. The problem is that it can be read two ways, and the way I have always read it is that CVs in the battle hex are NOT included in the 'calculation'. It has only just 'clicked' how you intend it to be read.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.