Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Band of Brothers: Screaming Eagles» Forums » Rules

Subject: Final OP Fire Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Judd Vance
United States
Wichita
Kansas
flag msg tools
Every Man a (K-State) Wildcat!
badge
"Just get that sucka to the designated place at the designated time and I will gladly designate his ass...for dismemberment!" - Sho Nuff.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say you have a unit marked "OP Fire". An enemy moves 2 hexes away and the OP Fire unit misses (rolls a 10). It is then marked "Used".

The attacker moves adjacent, so the defender then conducts Final OP Fire.

The rules say, "Just like OP Fire, the firing unit must pass a Prof Check. The same modifiers apply to these checks as with OP Fire."

Those modifiers are listed above in 3 bullets.

1) If the Target unit is in the open.
2) If the target unit is adjacent.
3) If the firing unit has been previously marked as Op Fire.

The firing unit was earlier marked as "OP Fire" but now has a "used" marker. Does he get #3? Looking for clarification on "previously."

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmb
No, he does not get #3. He is no longer marked Op Fire and is marked as used.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew S. Fischer
United States
Devon
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Then should the rule say "marked" instead of "previously marked"?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Krohn
United States
New York
flag msg tools
designer
You keep using that word. I do not think it means what you think it means.
badge
Ahhh....my misspent youth...
Avatar
mbmb
Language - it's tricky. Believe it or not, the word previously was added so that people did not think that they could mark the unit as Op Fire when they made the decision to Op Fire.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luigi54
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
The unit with marker OP which fails to pass Prof Check is NOT marked Used.

So the instructions say at page 4, second column:

"If the unit fails to pass the Prof Check, the unit may not Op Fire at that unit in that hex, but it s NOT marked Used. Failing an Op Fire Prof Check is the ONLY time a unit failing a Prof Check or Moral Check is NOT marked as Used. The unit failing this Prof Check can attempt to Op Fire at the same unit again if it moves into a new hex or can attempt to perform another cation later in the turn."

So, in my opinion when The attacker moves adjacent the defender then conducts again OP Fire.

Is my interpretation correct?
thanks
ciao from Italy
Luigi
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
United States
Santa Rosa
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That is correct if the prof check fails, but I think the original poster implied that the op fire attack itself missed and so the unit was marked as used and it's only remaining fire option for the remainder of the turn is final op fire.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luigi54
Italy
Milano
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Joshua: it makes sense to me now!
ciao
Luigi
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.