Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

World in Flames» Forums » Rules

Subject: Aligning Hungary rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
D T P
United States
Pikeville
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A question about aligning Hungary to Germany before the USSR demands Rumanian territory. In my rules it says that Hungary can be declared aligned with Germany after Germany declares war on Yugoslavia.

For years we've played this as it could even happen in the same impulse Germany declares war on Yugoslavia. (ie. Germany declares war on Yugo then immediately declares Hungary aligned before even moving) This allowed German units to dash across Hungary and attack Yugoslavian units in the suprise impulse.

But we've had a newbie who seems to think this should mean in an impulse after. He insists that Hungary can not be declared aligned in the same impulse as the declaration of war, that it must be an impulse after.

So, have we been doing this wrong for years? Or is our newbie playing rules lawyer too much?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've always seen it allowed on the same impulse, just like you.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Fowler
United States
cedar rapids
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Us too. As DOWs are declared and then aligned minors are declared. You would be at war with Yugo before the alignment happens.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D T P
United States
Pikeville
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I never really thought we had it wrong. Our newbie just wanted a second opinion.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xlhrider wrote:
I never really thought we had it wrong. Our newbie just wanted a second opinion.


He got a second and a third!
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Johns
United States
Unspecified
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, for a small fee, I can offer a different opinion with the following caveat... I agree with the other two guys.

But, with that said, for a measly $4.12 USD or it's equivalent $1,390.50 Canadian I'd vote the other way. whistle

Just kidding. Wendell's right, as usual.





Yes, so basically, I added nothing to the discussion. yuk
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.