Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
1 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: "Lead The Way" and "Spanish Letter of Marque" rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Carsten Jorgensen
Denmark
flag msg tools
Player A has the "Spanish Letter of Marque". The Spanish Naval ship is on the board and so is the mission "Lead the way".

If player B takes that mission can he complete it by scouting for player A?

And if yes - what happens?

What if war breakes out between B's nation and Spain before the scouting is made?

B would actually be leading his enemy to find a pirate (or privateer) . And if no more actions are left he would be subject to scouting by the Naval ship next turn (though then a brave thing to complete the mission with his last action).

Player A is really a privateer to the Spanish so technically not a pirate. But to them only - he is a pirate to the other players (when claiming bounties and with some captain's special abilities), sea-zone effects and to the NPC pirates. It is just that on the "Letter of Marque" it says: "Spanish Naval ships ignore you". So naturally they don't scout for you. But I would also take it that they won't fight you even if forced to be a Glory card or mission (on "Lead the Way" is says: "The pirate is then engaged by the Spanish Naval ship...").

It would be strange to me to have a battle, but just as strange to have the Spanish ship look for their own privateer in the first place (as is what they get you to do for them in "Lead the Way").


The same situation could happen with the "Escort" Glory card. And for other nations "Letter of Marque" also. The same "strange" thing with war could happen here too if you move a Naval ship you yourself are at war with (it is perhaps the only one, or you don't want to move the others). This Naval ship would actually have been escorting an enemy merchant! A diplomat was onboard perhaps ?

Do the Naval ship move to the sea-zone in this case, but just with no battle taking place?

Would seem the logical outcome in this case too, as the privateer player scout and finds that the player is actually being escorted by a ship of his own nation and naturally both sides disengage. Though perhaps it should not be possible to use the card on a Naval ship of a nation you are at war with.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.