Tim Cooper
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
mb
There are two separate Initiative modifier chits for Hungarian Surrender Bonus and Budapest and two more for Rumanian Surrender Bonus and Bucharest/Ploesti. There's only one Initiative modifier chit for Finnish Surrender Bonus and none for Helsinki.

Why are there pairs for Hungary and Rumania? It does not appear possible to take the capital without the country surrendering...is taking the capital, then, really worth a 2 shift in initiative? Or should conquering the minor by taking the capital be worth just 1?

As for Ploesti...it is not possible to take Bucharest without taking Ploesti, but there are separate rules for these events.

Would it not be simpler to have just one chit for Hungary and Rumania (like Finland), worth 1 initiative? And invoke all the Ploesti effects when Rumania surrenders instead of separate rules.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
YesMyNameIs Smith
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Coopert wrote:
There are two separate Initiative modifier chits for Hungarian Surrender Bonus and Budapest and two more for Rumanian Surrender Bonus and Bucharest/Ploesti. There's only one Initiative modifier chit for Finnish Surrender Bonus and none for Helsinki.

Why are there pairs for Hungary and Rumania? It does not appear possible to take the capital without the country surrendering...is taking the capital, then, really worth a 2 shift in initiative? Or should conquering the minor by taking the capital be worth just 1?

As for Ploesti...it is not possible to take Bucharest without taking Ploesti, but there are separate rules for these events.

Would it not be simpler to have just one chit for Hungary and Rumania (like Finland), worth 1 initiative? And invoke all the Ploesti effects when Rumania surrenders instead of separate rules.



I think they're seperate because you could theoretically recapture the cities, thus relieving the initiative bonus related to the soviet objective. But you're stuck with the surrender chit initiative ding forever.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.