Subject: Best Way to Play? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Daniel Noteboom
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
I just started playing Cosmic Encounter with my friends. We started playing a few weeks ago and we played five times this last week with 6 or 7 players in every game. I was just wondering what is everyone's favorite way to play. Do you like hidden powers, rotating powers, freewheeling flares, tech cards, hazard decks, and the defenders rewards deck or any combination of these? Also, do you like choosing powers rather than just randomly handing them out?

For me I didn't really like the tech cards. Someone used the tech card that gave them a fifth planet to get a really sneaky win.(I didn't even that card was in the deck). So far I haven't tried the variants in the game other than tech cards and the two expansions. I enjoyed the defenders reward deck, but the hazard deck seemed to barely affect the game because only two hazard cards came up the whole game. I actually think I enjoy Cosmic Encounter more with 4 or 5 players than with 6 or 7 because the game seems to go a lot slower with that many players(and decks build up since less people are involved in encounters and build up their hands by being defensive allies.) I thought the hidden powers and choosing powers would be better once everyone was familiar with all the powers.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron McKenzie
United States
Atlanta
Georgia
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
ChickenKing wrote:

For me I didn't really like the tech cards. Someone used the tech card that gave them a fifth planet to get a really sneaky win.

To be fair, some of the flares enable sneaky fifth-colony wins. I suppose this is balanced by the fact that flares are a lot easier to cancel.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
K
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Default Power and Flare Rules etc.