Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Nautilus» Forums » Rules

Subject: End game condition rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Fisher
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The first two end game conditions are (1) Atlantis pieces 13, 14 and 15 have all been found, or (2) all 15 Atlantis pieces have been found.

Since (2) can't be true without (1) being true, I am not sure how the game can end with condition (2) ... am I missing something?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Richter
United States
Springfield
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can 13, 14, and 15 be found while a tile numbers 12 or less still remains undiscovered?
If so, it means that either:

1) 13, 14, and 15 have been discovered even though some tile with a number less than 13 remains undiscovered, or

2) all 15 have been discovered

Game condition 2 does mean 1 would also be completed, but not the other way around.

2 would be satisfied if all tiles are discovered except for 14 and then 14 is found. It would satisfy both. #1 could happen earlier.

Tim
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gary Pressler
United States
West Lafayette
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
OMG! Overtext! How long have I been sleeping?! OVERTEXT! Also, I'm a DESIGNER now?! Sweet! OVERTEXXXXXXT!
badge
HO HO HO! Give me some money!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The difference is what happens after these two triggers.

#1) If all 15 Atlantis tiles are found, then the game ends at the end of the current round.

#2) If 13, 14, and 15 are all found but some other Atlantis tiles are still missing, then the current round continues and the game ends after the NEXT full round. (Unless, of course, the last tiles are found during the current round, triggering #1.)

This is a wonderful game but it is marred by several odd little exceptions like this. Still, I very much enjoy it.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Fisher
Australia
Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
GaryP wrote:
The difference is what happens after these two triggers.

#1) If all 15 Atlantis tiles are found, then the game ends at the end of the current round.

#2) If 13, 14, and 15 are all found but some other Atlantis tiles are still missing, then the current round continues and the game ends after the NEXT full round. (Unless, of course, the last tiles are found during the current round, triggering #1.)

Ah, yes, that makes sense; if #1 and #2 happen simultaneously, trest it as #1. Thanks.

GaryP wrote:
This is a wonderful game but it is marred by several odd little exceptions like this. Still, I very much enjoy it.

As I found out on my first play earlier today
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.