Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Power Grid: The Robots» Forums » Rules

Subject: Phase 4 - Last Player Chooses - Question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Howard Wagner
United States
Odenton
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
With "Last player chooses, cannot build through possible cities", does the last player make the robot build as many connections as the robot can afford, or is it the choice of the last player, how many or how few cities the robot will connect in to?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
howaa wrote:
With "Last player chooses, cannot build through possible cities", does the last player make the robot build as many connections as the robot can afford, or is it the choice of the last player, how many or how few cities the robot will connect in to?


The rules say "He chooses as long as the robot can pay for them."

So keep choosing until he can't afford any more.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Howard Wagner
United States
Odenton
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm not convinced that is the correct answer. We played that it was up to the individual making the decision. In one of the other special abilities, the robot buys as much as possible. Why would this be the same?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Miller
United States
Holland
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I think the difference is that here the last player can choose which cities the robot will build, whereas under the usual rules the robot always builds to the cheapest city next.

But I do agree that the wording is slightly unclear, and it would be nice to have an official clarification.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Glamorous Mucus wrote:
I think the difference is that here the last player can choose which cities the robot will build, whereas under the usual rules the robot always builds to the cheapest city next.


Exactly, it's not the same, because if the player chooses expensive connections, the robot will build few cities, if he chooses cheap connections, he'll build a lot of cities.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henning Kröpke
Germany
Ascheberg
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Joshua's and Steve's answers are correct!
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eugene Bikkinin
Russia
Moscow
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Henning wrote:
Joshua's and Steve's answers are correct!


But it's still vagueness. In our first game the robot started with 100 Electro. And he has bought a plant supplying only one city.

So could the last player force the robot to buy cities on all of its money?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Henning Kröpke
Germany
Ascheberg
Germany
flag msg tools
publisher
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Xneg wrote:
Henning wrote:
Joshua's and Steve's answers are correct!


But it's still vagueness. In our first game the robot started with 100 Electro. And he has bought a plant supplying only one city.

So could the last player force the robot to buy cities on all of its money?

The robot will buy as many cities as he can afford, so in this case the last player chooses more cities as long as the robot can pay for them.

This robot tile forces the real players to keep up with the robot in connecting cities...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Peter Gousis
United States
Ellicott City
Maryland
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry to derail this thread a bit, but who is the Last Player? Is it the person who is last on the turn order track, or the person who goes last in this phase of the game?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Danny Wu
United States
New York City
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
MonkeyGoose wrote:
Sorry to derail this thread a bit, but who is the Last Player? Is it the person who is last on the turn order track, or the person who goes last in this phase of the game?


I'm wondering this question also. Can someone explain?
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
MonkeyGoose wrote:
Sorry to derail this thread a bit, but who is the Last Player? Is it the person who is last on the turn order track, or the person who goes last in this phase of the game?

"Last player" in Power Grid in general means "last position on the turn order track, i.e. sitting on the highest number". And in the context of the robots, it means the "last human player".

How the turn order is used depends on the phase. E.g. the "last player" buys resources before the "first player".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.