9 Posts

Mage Knight Board Game» Forums » General

Subject: Is it possible to play with 5 players ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Remo Galvan
msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Never played Mage Knight, so I have no experience about it, but this game looks very interesting and it seems the kind of game that my playing group could really like a lot.

I'm considering to buy it, but there is a big problem ... my playing group is almost always of 5 people (Vlaada, you should let play all of us together with your beautiful games ...).

Let's suppose to have 2 copies of the game in our group (so we have the components), if it possible to play it with 5 players ?

And with only 1 copy, replacing the needed missing components in some way ?

Thanks for your suggestions and thoughts.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
King of All Simians — Not a Mere Diplomat
United States
Wilmington
Select State
flag msg tools
designer
I love you.
badge
I love you.
mb
You can't play with five. There are unique decks, groups of abilities, and minis for each character.

But for that matter, I doubt I'll play with four again. The fourth player doesn't add as much to the experience as the greatly-added downtime takes away. Stick to one, two, or three for this one.

And yeah, it's worth getting just for the solo experience, even if it can't hit the table with your full crew. Then, if there's ever a night where a couple of fellows aren't available, you can whip it on 'em.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joachim Pehl
Germany
Daubach
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It should be technically possible with two copies if you do not mind a duplicate hero. Furthermore, there was some talk about a hero expansion. But, I would strongly advise against playing with 5 unless all 5 players have 10 games under their belt and are generally fast players and even then I would prefer to split into a 2 and a 3 player game.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul Grogan
United Kingdom