Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Dungeon Petz» Forums » Rules

Subject: potions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Roland W. est. 1984
Germany
Deutschland
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
if you give a monster a potion are all other needs ignored???
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris J Davis
United Kingdom
London
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Overtext pending moderation...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Only the need that you replace with the potion is ignored.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Dufour
Canada
Quebec
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And don't forget to discard a card the color of the one your potion is replacing.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kwaine wrote:
And don't forget to discard a card the color of the one your potion is replacing.


This is the big one. Otherwise your hands build up and you run out of cards.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
Kwaine wrote:
And don't forget to discard a card the color of the one your potion is replacing.

This is the big one. Otherwise your hands build up and you run out of cards.

...and potions would be even more powerful than they already are, too, because they'd allow you to retain two cards of a type once they're used.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Digital Tilas
Germany
Lippstadt
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
bleached_lizard wrote:
No. Only the need that you replace with the potion is ignored.


Oh, we played it wrong because the german rules say "in this PHASE you don't do anything with your pet...", while the english ones say: "when it is time to evaluate THIS CARD..."

Though I think it's clear and a false translation, can someone confirm this please?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
digital_tilas wrote:
Though I think it's clear and a false translation, can someone confirm this please?

Not me, I attempt to avoid all translated movies, board games, books, etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Reis
United States
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
I can confirm it. There's no ambiguity in the English rules.

For further confirmation, there is an exhibition - Beauty Pageant, I think - that gives + for every different colored card assigned to your monster. In this, the potions (blue) are counted as their own color, meaning you can have up to 5 colors on one creature. If the potion cancelled all needs, this wouldn't be possible.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.