The rules say "when revealed" effects use that keyword in bold.
However, the rules also refer to things like Treachery cards in general or effects like Doomed, Surge, etc. to be effects that are trigged "when revealed", albeit that text in the rules is not in bold.
It feels slightly ambiguous.
A Test of Will and Elanor are much weaker if you read the rules literally...
That is correct, Elanor and A Test of Will do not cancel Doomed or Surge. They ONLY cancel the effect specifically associated with a "When Revealed:" text.