Scott Wheelock
Canada
Woodstock
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
badge
David Malki drew this!
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played a few games of Agricola, but mostly against people I've taught, with some solo games thrown in, and I've never moved beyond the E deck. I'm still a rookie, is what I'm saying.

So I turn to the forums for advice. Cards like Edit: The Grocer confuses me. Is it a good card, middling power, bad? How do you use it to best effect? When are the resources worth the price in food?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RJJ Zwiers
Netherlands
Enschede
Nederland
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: How to use the Grocer et al.
These are very difficult questions to answer, as all these answers are relative.

Only a small number of cards are good or great in and of themselves. Most of the cards though are good when combined with other bonuses to identical actions, or which allow for a quick start to certain strategies that are used by other cards in your hand...

No help to you eh?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Wheelock
Canada
Woodstock
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
badge
David Malki drew this!
mbmbmbmbmb
Roja wrote:
No help to you eh?

Well, a little, actually. It does help to know that it's a more complex card than, say, the Clay Mixer. Situational.

So, maybe my issue is that I'm looking at the Grocer as a pile of resources to possibly make use of, when I should be playing it when I have specific goals in mind that those resources can help me accomplish?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Benjamin Kerenza
United Kingdom
Bradford
West Yorkshire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe (and I am less of an expert than you swheelock) that one of the strengths of the grocer is the early vegetable among other things. Not amazing in and of itself but combined with other vegetable cards that assume later vegetable acquisitions it does give them a boost.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
J
United States
Alexandria
Virginia
flag msg tools
mb