Luca Colaneri
Italy
Torino
Torino
flag msg tools
www.balenaludens.it
badge
Visit us! http://www.balenaludens.it Reviews, articles, GAMES!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Can I still make active a location in the staging area if there is no one when WRT enters play?
Thank you
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
lizard
Netherlands
Utrecht
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: West Road Traveller with no active location
Tough question... so the card text says literally

West Road Traveler wrote:
Response: After you play West Road Traveller from your hand, switch the active location with any other location in the staging area.


Since the object in the second part of this sentence is "the active location" it seems that there has to be an active location to be able to trigger this response.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Oleg volobujev
msg tools
mbmb
Re: West Road Traveller with no active location
I think if there is no active location you take one from staging area and make it as a active location.If there is no locations at all nothing happen.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luca Colaneri
Italy
Torino
Torino
flag msg tools
www.balenaludens.it
badge
Visit us! http://www.balenaludens.it Reviews, articles, GAMES!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: West Road Traveller with no active location
Phagocyte wrote:
Why is this card labeled number 30 instead of 121? I presume it's an error.




Same thing in the italian version, it's an error.

I'm still uncertain about this card...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Iron
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: West Road Traveller with no active location
Are there any more thoughts on the OP's question? I have the same problem and have no idea how what is the correct interpretation.

For now I guess I go by the "always pick what is worse for you" rule.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Corbin
United States
Tallahassee
FL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: West Road Traveller with no active location
If there is No active location, then there is nothing there for her to be able to switch. So there is no switching.

that's my (very Literal) interpretation.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick Brennan
Australia
St Ives, Sydney
NSW
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: West Road Traveller with no active location
Official Response
The answer from Nate is:

A "switch" cannot be made if both sides to be switched are not present.

Luca, can you append " - Received an official response" to the thread heading. Thx.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hendrik Neumann
Germany
Braunschweig
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry for reviving this thread, but the same question came up in on of our games last week and there was some debate about the interpretation of the official response (probably because we are not native speakers).

Going by Nate's response as cited by Patrick Brennan, when WRT enters play and there is no active location, but (at least) one location in the staging area, I am allowed to take the latter one and make it the active location (as the answer says a switch cannot be made when both sides to be switched are not present, but in the mentioned case only one side is missing).

Correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Fanchi
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Nate's wording is perhaps a bit imprecise in this case. I think it would be more precise to say: A "switch" cannot be made if both sides either side to be switched are is not present. In other words, you must have both sides of a switch in order to do a switch.

This issue is actually now addressed in the FAQ:
FAQ 1.7 wrote:
(1.26) The word “switch”
In order for a switch to occur, switched items must
exist on both sides of the switch.
3 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hendrik Neumann
Germany
Braunschweig
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, that makes more sense to me. I had looked specifically for the WRT in the FAQ and missed the general ruling. Thanks a lot!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.