Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Commands & Colors: Napoleonics» Forums » General

Subject: Battling upon entering a fordable river rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Lee

Georgia
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Unit entering a forest hex must stop AND cannot battle unless a light unit.

Units entering a fordable river must STOP, but can't they still battle?
My friend says they must stop and can't battle. I say they must stop and can battle. Who's right?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
GA Jim wrote:
Unit entering a forest hex must stop AND cannot battle unless a light unit.

Units entering a fordable river must STOP, but can't they still battle?
My friend says they must stop and can't battle. I say they must stop and can battle. Who's right?

per the rules on p. 20

Quote:
Battle: A unit may battle the turn it moves onto a Fordable
River hex.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duke
United States
Wynne
Arkansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, there are always the rules to try...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Lee

Georgia
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, big "duh" on me. My friend and I are playing by internet and were using the Terrain Effects charts and other nationality aids. Never thought of the bloody rules. Good grief. Thanks guys.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Read the rulebook, plan for all contingencies, and…read the rulebook again.
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Some times when you might not get a chance to fight with a unit that moved into a Fordable River Hex when it otherwise might:

1. The unit is Light Infantry or Horse Artillery that made a two-hex move.
2. The unit moved under Le Grande Maneuver.
3. The unit moved two hexes under play of Force March and is not a Light, Grenadier, Guard, or Leader-led unit.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.