Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Alexander K
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hello. I'm really pretty new to boardgames, but one I recently picked up and enjoyed was the dice based game Airships. I know there are a lot of games with dice mechanics, but I enjoyed the fact that Airships is pretty light, yet offers some interesting decisions. I've seen it listed as being similar to games like To Court The King and Alea Iacta Est which look interesting as well.

Besides those, are there any other games like this that would be fairly similar but not too heavy?

Thanks for your help!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
p55carroll
United States
Minnesota
flag msg tools
"Don't hang around, 'cause two's a crowd on my cloud, baby."
badge
"If I were to hang my head, I'd miss all the rainbows. And I'd drown in raindrops instead."
mbmbmbmbmb
Luftschiff (Airships at War)

Sorry--just kidding. Similar theme, but a completely different kind of game.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wade Ashton
United States
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
We really like Airships as well, for the same reasons you do. The majority of our games are light to mid-weight games that play in around 1 hour.

For a dice game that's about the same length, I'd recommend Dice Town.

For a light but intersting/interactive boardgame, I'd suggest The Downfall of Pompeii.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joseph
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Today, we're all Spaniards!
Alexx9811 wrote:
Hello. I'm really pretty new to boardgames, but one I recently picked up and enjoyed was the dice based game Airships. I know there are a lot of games with dice mechanics, but I enjoyed the fact that Airships is pretty light, yet offers some interesting decisions. I've seen it listed as being similar to games like To Court The King and Alea Iacta Est which look interesting as well.