Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The sixth Strategy articel for WotR Second Edition is now online over at Aresgames' website:

http://www.aresgames.eu/2368
6 
 Thumb up
0.27
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sweet. I need to print all of these out sometime and keep them in the game box.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shawn Woods
Canada
Halifax
Nova Scotia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dboeren wrote:
Sweet. I need to print all of these out sometime and keep them in the game box.


Check out the BGG files section for printer-friendly PDF's of #1-4 (more will come, eventually).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since when did Orthanc start with 5 regulars and an elite? Have I been setting up wrong in all my games, or is this a setup change for the second edition?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gene Bradshaw
United States
Northridge
California
flag msg tools
Question on this: The North in Dale can not retreat into Woodland Realm unless both armies are at war, correct?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Poulter
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It can also be done if neither army are at war, see page 35 of the second edition rules:

Exception: Non-belligerent units are allowed to cross another
Nation’s border when retreating from a battle. If they do so,
the next time they move, they must move out of that Nation,
unless they became “At War” in the meantime.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: Re: Sixth Strategy articel for WotR Second Edition is now online!
TrophyChase wrote:
Since when did Orthanc start with 5 regulars and an elite? Have I been setting up wrong in all my games, or is this a setup change for the second edition?


There are four Regulars and one Elite in Orthanc during setup.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jordan
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oh. I just assumed the setup had changed as the picture in the article had an extra regular and all of Rohan's troops were in the initial setup.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave de Vil
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
GamesJart wrote:
It can also be done if neither army are at war, see page 35 of the second edition rules:

Exception: Non-belligerent units are allowed to cross another
Nation’s border when retreating from a battle. If they do so,
the next time they move, they must move out of that Nation,
unless they became “At War” in the meantime.


Suppose the only way out is blocked by enemy forces (quite likely in the circumstances); are such units effectively frozen; for example could the player use 1 action die to move them within the borders of the nation concerned, and then immediately use another die to move them out into a free region? Or does this still violate the rule?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberto Di Meglio
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
They could not move, unless they move out. So yes, they'd be frozen.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave de Vil
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
Does the same thing apply if using an event card that allows an army to move two regions, i.e. is this 2-region move considered one move for "moving out" purposes?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dominico Mucci
msg tools
These guides are brilliant, thanks a lot for the effort Kris. Well written and informative. Lets see if i can put them into action to win as the Free peoples.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.