Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Through the Ages: A Story of Civilization» Forums » Rules

Subject: War over Culture question rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Martin Kerpen
msg tools
I have a question about resolving War over Culture. Let's say that once both players have had their turn after war has been declared, the attacking civilization has a strength of 50 and the other civ has a strength of 10.

So that's a strength difference of 40 which would normally be what the aggressor gets at resolution. Now let's say the weaker civ only has 15 culture points overall, would the attacking civ still get 40 culture while the weaker one just goes down to 0?

This is of course assuming that neither player decides to sacrifice any units.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Debien
United States
Round Rock
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The attacking player can only gain what the losing civ has available to give. In your example, the attacker would receive 15 culture.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Bradshaw
United Kingdom
Newcastle Upon Tyne
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
From the rules relating to Wars - bottom of Page 17.

As with Aggression, the victor is taking something away from the vanquished and thus cannot gain more than what the vanquished lost.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.