Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Onirim» Forums » Rules

Subject: Obtaining a door with nightmare resolve rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Steve Monofas
msg tools
Let's say I resolve a nightmare by drawing the first five cards of the deck, discarding labyrinth cards and putting in limbo doors and other nightmares.

Can I obtain a door by discarding a matching key color this way?

Thank you
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Arvydas Kazlauskas
Latvia
Riga
flag msg tools
Avatar
I don't think that's legal. Resolving nightmares doesn't count as a draw phaze (and that's when you can actually discard the key to claim a door of the same colour).
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Monofas
msg tools
Yes but at the 'Discard your whole hand' section it says clearly that 'the dreams are not triggered and you cannot obtain a door card by discarding a key card'.

In the 'Reveal the first 5 cards in the deck' section, it doesn't say such a thing. Maybe it is legal then?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron Chien
United States
Rancho Cucamonga
California
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not. You are burning the top five cards of the deck. Doors and Nightmares can't be discarded into the discard pile, so they are put in Limbo instead.

Cameron
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
B C Z
United States
Reston
Virginia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rules wrote:

When you draw a Nightmare card, you have to choose one of the following:
- Discard a Key card from your hand
or
- Place one of your gained Door cards in the Limbo pile
or
- Reveal the first 5 cards in the deck; if among the cards you reveal Door and/or Dream cards, these are placed into the Limbo pile; the remaining cards are discarded
or
- Discard your whole hand; in that case you must draw a new hand of 5 cards, and proceed as at the beginning of the game: draw cards until you have 5 Labyrinth cards in your hand, putting aside any Door and/or Dream card into the Limbo pile (the Dreams are not triggered, and you cannot obtain a Door card by discarding a Key card).

When the nightmare card has been resolved, discard it.


Doors go to Limbo, therefor you cannot obtain it with a key.

Otherwise, by the OP's logic, you would have to interact with and resolve any discovered nightmares as well.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Monofas
msg tools
Yes, it makes perfect sense.

Thank you all.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.