Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dan Spezzano
United States
Geneva
IL
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm very new to painting. I have almost all of my box sets (original and Core) painted but now I am unsure what to do.

I have a bunch of vallejo pigments for snow, sand etc and I have some of their product for putting it on the bases. I tried this with one squad and it just looks like I put some white powder on the base, it looks terrible. I have no idea really the best way to apply these pigments to make them look good, any advice?

Second I want to put on some kind of varnish coat. Again I have a few bottles of vallejo matter and glossy varnish. As with most things of this nature there are no instructions. I assume I dilute this stuff with water since it is visibly white in color. However the thought of painting on two coats of this stuff after all this painting is depressing.

Can I go to a hardware store and buy some spray on varnish or would people advise against it? Is there anyone who doesn't put varnish on? If so does the paint chip away during play etc?

Thanks and sorry for all the newbie questions. Goggling painting tutorials etc is overwhelming sometimes.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Palmer
Canada
Ayr
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I've never heard of a varnish you can dilute with water. I don't believe you should have to dilute it, either, but if you need to, you need to get some kind of solvent, rather than water.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Wyant
United States
Spindale
NC
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just about any Matte spray will do for the whole models, you can get some at walmart.
After you spray it (and let it completely dry in a warm dry place) you can use the vallejo gloss for shiny surfaces like goggles and lights.

I've never used the snow, but there are several who have, look for their pictures in the gallery.

I paint my bases in summer colors with grass, dirt and rocks.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide