Richard Binney
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
No solutions here, but I am very much inclined to agree that the bloodletter upgrade is overpowered. This is only coming from 6-7 four player games of experience with the new expansion, so take this with a bit of salt. However with future games, it seems as though every player will be co-operating to work against Khorne. This is what we would do in the base game, however it's going to be twice as hard now that they have VP scoring abilities and as you mentioned, no chaos cards to counter his dial advancements. If you can't score at least one dial with Khorne in the expansion, you're probably suffering from horrible luck.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vasilis
Greece
Heraklion Crete
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
When I started playing with the expansion I noticed that Khorne's upgrade seemed overpowered. Back then I'd agree with you in an instant.

After playing a few more times since then I found that Khorne was not such a powerhouse if the other players started playing less like eurogamers and more like ameritrashers.

In other words the other gods have warriors too and Khorne's units have 1 Defense. That's the key to beat him. Force him to recast those Bloodletters over and over again and he won't have the power points to make the final push to victory with his cards.

That single upgrade does not grant Khorne the victory, it's just supporting him to achieve it when combined with his cards.

Although I'm not entirely convinced that this card is not overpowered after our last sessions I'm willing to think that it's the player's mindset from the base game that makes that card look broken and not the other way around.

Time will tell.