Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: questions about final combat with ancient one rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
mateo jurasic
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
1) is there an upkeep phase every round with ancient one, or just one at the beginning?
2) can you trade in between rounds fighting the ancient one?
3) Do during game effects of ancient ones continue occuring during the final round. For example, there is Glaaki, who during the game raises the terror level one if an investigator is devoured. However there is an Epic final battle card specific to Glaaki that lets the first player sacrifice himself to lower the terror level 1 or 3... Which is totally pointless if it just results in the terror level going back up two.

thanks
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Mc Cabe
United States
Arizona
flag msg tools
There are those who look at things the way they are and ask why . . . I dream of things that never were and ask why not
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Every round.

2) Yes.

3) They no longer apply. The major special ability specifically says: "While (insert Ancient One here) stirs in his slumber. . ." If you're fighting him, he's no longer stirring in his slumber. He's awake! The minor ability usually revolves around enhancing monster toughness, which no longer applies.

Brian
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Baume
Australia
Lismore
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
1) is there an upkeep phase every round with ancient one, or just one at the beginning?


Yes, there is an Upkeep phase at the beginning of every round during the Final Battle

Quote:
2) can you trade in between rounds fighting the ancient one?


Yes

Quote:
3) Do during game effects of ancient ones continue occuring during the final round. For example, there is Glaaki, who during the game raises the terror level one if an investigator is devoured. However there is an Epic final battle card specific to Glaaki that lets the first player sacrifice himself to lower the terror level 1 or 3... Which is totally pointless if it just results in the terror level going back up two.


No, once the GOO is awake the "in-game" effects don't count....see Tibs' answer below.

EDIT: Brian got to this one just before me...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry guys, you're both wrong. All "in-game" abilities absolutely count in final combat! "In slumber" is just poetic license and doesn't actually mean "no longer active when awake."

Against Cthulhu, your maximums remain reduced by 1. You don't get back the 1 maximum sanity and stamina you lost at the start of the game.

Nyarlathotep's Masks are still in the bag, but this is only relevant when you use the Kingsport expansion's Epic Battle variant.

Likewise for Shub-Niggurath: the appropriate "sinister plot" card could have you battling a monster!

Against Glaaki, losing allies (primarily terror-ups) still causes his Servants to enter play. It should be obvious that sacrificing yourself for the sinister plot card doesn't increase the terror level by 2 in this case because it would be pointless. I believe this has been officially stated somewhere.

Gaining brood tokens against Eihort still causes you to roll to see if you're devoured, and he still gains brood tokens when you are.

Bokrug's servants are an integral part of final combat.

Quachil Uttaus still administers his Dust deck unless that was an oversight. Perhaps not, so you should still do it.

Jury's still out on the revised version of Hastur--i.e., whether you count as "in Arkham" for the purposes of increasing the terror level when someone goes insane (if it gets high enough, he would start getting doom tokens)
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.