Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Risk Legacy» Forums » General

Subject: Are we missing something from our copy? (Give me spoilers!) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave C
United States
flag msg tools
You Greeks are always children!
badge
Jean Gabin in La Grande Illusion
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We've played 8 games so far and all the packets have been opened. (Yes we did open it.)

I was going over the rules yesterday and I noticed the rule regarding maneuvering. "Unless you have a power that says otherwise, you can only perform one maneuver per turn."


I've examined and reexamined the factions, rules, scars, and even destroyed elements. (yup they are in a ziplock bag). I can't find any power that allows for two or more maneuvers per turn...

So I am either missing something, or our copy is truly missing something.

If anyone can enlighten me, I would greatly appreciate it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Duffy
United States
Phoenixville
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Mr Worf.....Fire!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
At the very start of the first game, there was the option of choosing between 2 special powers for each faction, then permanently discarding the other. Without spoiling, one faction power we choose pertains to maneuvering non-adjacently.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Reil
United States
Barre
Vermont
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
There's at least one other Manuever related power besides that, because that's one of the ones we picked.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave C
United States
flag msg tools
You Greeks are always children!
badge
Jean Gabin in La Grande Illusion
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry, I should have been clearer--the rule book states:

"Unless you have a power that says otherwise, you can only perform one
maneuver per turn."

And I know of the Saharan Republic's starting power regarding unconnected-territory maneuvers.

The rulebook implies that there is a power that allows you to maneuver more than once. I have not seen such a power in my copy of Risk Legacy.

Does any owner/player of the game have a 2+ maneuver capability? Could it be one of the event cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mychal
United States
Tempe
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've opened all 6 of the readily visible packets in the box, and have some across no such ability. I'd venture a guess that they phrased it that way to leave the option open for such an ability. Either one that was intended for the game and got scrapped, or for future promo material.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ben Draper
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Skylar114 wrote:
I've opened all 6 of the readily visible packets in the box, and have some across no such ability. I'd venture a guess that they phrased it that way to leave the option open for such an ability. Either one that was intended for the game and got scrapped, or for future promo material.


Ditto. We encountered no such ability.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
did you check the German expansion pack?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave C
United States
flag msg tools
You Greeks are always children!
badge
Jean Gabin in La Grande Illusion
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marhawkman wrote:
did you check the German expansion pack?


Yes. No extra maneuvers there...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ah, well, maybe a future expansion? Or perhaps it was an idea that never made it into the finished game.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave C
United States
flag msg tools
You Greeks are always children!
badge
Jean Gabin in La Grande Illusion
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marhawkman wrote:
ah, well, maybe a future expansion? Or perhaps it was an idea that never made it into the finished game.


Agreed. We can only hope it is found in an expansion...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mar hawkman
msg tools
For all have sinned and fallen short of the glory
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Or homebrews!

Oooh... that gives me ideas....
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.