Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: sealing gates rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Onin Cognito
msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can other investigators seal a gate that you have already explored?

lets say you get sucked into a other world, explored it and make it back to Arkham, but dont have enough clue tokens to seal. can another investigator come and seal for you?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Green Dan
United Kingdom
Norwich
Norfolk
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope, you have to close the gate, then spend the clues.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Baume
Australia
Lismore
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Only an Investigator who has an "Explored" token can close/seal a gate therefore Investigators in Arkham can't move to a Gate and try and seal it for another Investigator. In fact because of the phase/movement mechanics an Investigator in Arkham who moves to a Gate's location attempting to help another Investigator just returned from an Other World will be sucked through the Gate into an Other World location if the Gate is open in the Arkham Encounters phase.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E A
msg tools
And what happens if an investigator.is sucked in and the other investigators seals the gate? Does the one in the other world end up lost in time and space, if there are no more open gates that lead to the same world?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
yaxomoxay wrote:
And what happens if an investigator.is sucked in and the other investigators seals the gate? Does the one in the other world end up lost in time and space, if there are no more open gates that lead to the same world?

Yes. That is correct. Remember though that they only go to LiTaS at the moment they try to return and the gate is not there. It is not automatic as soon as it closes. So you have a chance to (hopefully) get a new gate open to that OW before you go LiTaS.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E A
msg tools
And what if the first investigator, which explored the gate, leaves without closing the gate? Does the gate disappear and the second investigator is LiTaS? Or since someone is in out the gate stays open?
Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan Wojciechowski
United States
Aurora
Illinois
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
yaxomoxay wrote:
And what if the first investigator, which explored the gate, leaves without closing the gate? Does the gate disappear and the second investigator is LiTaS? Or since someone is in out the gate stays open?
Thanks!


If the investigator "leaves without closing the gate", the gate is still open. Gates remain open until someone (or an event) closes them. It does not matter whether another investigator is in the connection Other World or not.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.