Popular Tags: [View All]
Jan Tuijp
Netherlands
Volendam
Noord-Holland
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

A review by an inexperienced war gamer. For details on game play, the three different games in the box and their components, see other reviews. I’d like to talk about some other aspects, like the alleged fiddlyness of the game.

I’ve bought this game together with D-Day at Omaha Beach (also by John Butterfield). RAF was delivered first and I started studying the rules. My approach to any game is to study the rules twice, sometimes more, with no more than an occasional glance at the components. For me that’s part of the fun of buying a new game. Foreplay in the literal sense.

Rules

The rules were a bit frightening for someone who’s accustomed to FFG-rulebooks with lots of pictures and examples, big fonts and plenty of spacing. The RAF-rulebooks will have none of these frivolities and just pour the rules on the pages, methodical, logical and rather intimidating, especially for eurogamers. But then, this isn’t a eurogame of course. This is a war game and he who considers buying this game does well to consider:

a. the amount of time he is prepared to spend on mastering the rules
b. the amount of time he is prepared to spend on the game
c. the amount of time he actually has to spend

On the rules, the news isn’t really that grim. There are very nice player aids available in the files section and especially the flip-book(s) are of enormous help for newbies (or for those who haven’t played for a while).

Time

The same cannot be said about playing time. The first plays will cost you. Dearly. Even with a flip-book. There are several reasons for this. First, there are lots of things to keep track off. In the right order. Things that impact the game in a way you don’t immediately appreciate. A fiddly kind of way.