Holman
United States
Philadelphia
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi all,

I'm new to CC and new to VASSAL. (Most of my wargaming in the past 10-15 years has been computer games via PBEM, especially the Combat Mission series.)

I'd like to try CC with VASSAL now. Is there a good, step-by-step tutorial for using the two together available somewhere?

Also, what is the etiquette of observing games at VASSAL? Do players mind being observed? How does observing work? (Do I see both sides, for instance?)

So far when I've visited VASSAL for CC, I'm the only one in the "Main Room" and I don't see any games happening. Am I doing something wrong?

Thanks for any new-user advice! I'm trying to get up to speed.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
César Moreno
Spain
Castellon
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb

1) There use to be a tutorial, in the files section. It's probably outdated by now, though. Maybe you could just try and watch other people playing.

2) Don't know about other people, I don't mind having spectators. But I do mind when they keep trying to synch again and again, sometimes freezing my computer. I'd ask before synching, and do it just once - prepare to wait, it takes its time. Once in the game, you can watch the board, the cards being played, but not the players' hands.

3) Just bad luck or timing, I guess.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tanks Alot
United States
Fort Mill
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
go2 Youtube Historical Gaming
mbmbmbmbmb
We have a group that plays this quite frequently and we use facebook to connect
https://www.facebook.com/groups/vassalwargamers/

I have also made a few videos on how to play using vassal
http://www.youtube.com/user/charlescab82/search?query=combat...