Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Take-Back-Toe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Sideways in neutral row? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Mike Cooper
United States
Lewisville
Texas
flag msg tools
Ask me how I got this badge early!
badge
Dexterity Games Guy for BGG.Con / GeekCoin # 318030
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Looking at the rules, this appears legal, but not necessarily in the "spirit" of the game because it doesn't improve either player's position. I haven't yet played, but I can see this being brought up as an issue.

Any thoughts?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelo Nikolaou
Greece
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I've done it once or twice, it was worth it because I added beads to an empty middle slot in order to open a winning roll

In another case because I was forced to move one particular middle slot (not enough beads in any other) but wasn't worth it to move them at my area or my opponent's area
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Calvin Daniels
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
So can you move pieces on opponent's side , or just neutral row and your side of board?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Angelo Nikolaou
Greece
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's the way I understand and play it, and it's perfectly balanced and enjoyable. Both are viable strategies in certain points. Of course, horizontal and vertical moves only.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Calvin Daniels
Canada
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ah so which is the way, yes to moving on opponent's side ? or not ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
aug_aug
United States
Mountlake Terrace
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Anyone? I had the same question, the rules are not too clear...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kostas Retalis
Greece
Athens
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules state that "You must now move that number of chips from one
space to an adjacent space (orthogonally, not diagonally).
You can move the chips from any single space.".

I think it is implied that you can move the chips from any square to any other.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
aug_aug
United States
Mountlake Terrace
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's how I played it, just wanted to be sure...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.