Moshe Callen
Israel
Jerusalem
flag msg tools
designer
ἄνδρα μοι ἔννεπε, μοῦσα, πολύτροπον, ὃς μάλα πολλὰ/ πλάγχθη, ἐπεὶ Τροίης ἱερὸν πτολίεθρον ἔπερσεν./...
badge
μῆνιν ἄειδε θεὰ Πηληϊάδεω Ἀχιλῆος/ οὐλομένην, ἣ μυρί᾽ Ἀχαιοῖς ἄλγε᾽ ἔθηκε,/...
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Introduction

I received this game relatively recently as a review copy. Since then my wife and I have played a number of times, and she has also taken it to a game group which is unfortunately scheduled while I'm normally at work. While my wife is more of a fan of word games than I am, we do both like them. More important to mention perhaps is that I have an undergraduate degree in philology, my wife in linguistics. In other words, we both do pretty well at this kind of game. Naturally, this game got played straightaway.

Speaking just for myself in this review, I genuinely like the game but I don't see it having staying power. Likely it will get played sporadically in future. Yet if asked, I would probably recommend buying this game if it becomes available, though perhaps I'd not recommend going out of one's way to get it.

On the one hand, the game like most word-games engages the brain. A person playing this game will have to think and will need a decent vocabulary. On the other hand, the game does not require deep thought. A person can play this game with a ten year old or with an English professor. In either case, this game should prove an enjoyable experience.

1. Components and rules overview

Rules are available at the games website, but I'll give just enough of an overview as needed to understand this review.

The components are simple-- a set of cards marked with a word and a point value. The cards have a definite orientation so that combinations have a definite ordering.

and rules printed on three cards (of which the gallery has no picture currently), as well as a reference card: