Popular Tags: [View All]
Jason Emme
United States
Reno
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi there! I'm expanding my board game collection and I have decided on a worker placement game. I'm somewhat new to this genre of board games and I have narrowed down my list to the three previously mentioned. That being said, I can not decide which to get.

I need help. I'm not too familiar yet with the genres of board games. I have learned from some quick research that this is a worker placement genre game. Some of the video reviews I have watched said that this adds nothing to this genre, but what if I don't have any games in this category?

This is where you come in. Please help me choose which of the three "worker placement" games that I have listed will give me the most life out of the price I pay. I don't want a game that looks great, but only gets played once a month. I have not played any of these games so far. I love complex games with lots of stuff going on, but don't hate simple games. Please state your reasons. I thank you in advance for any advise, comments, and suggestions.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Weber
Germany
Wendeburg
Germany
flag msg tools
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
badge
Yo quiero estar contigo, vivir contigo, bailar contigo
mbmbmbmbmb
According to your experience I would rule out Caylus, as it is the most complicated of the bunch, unless you do not like dice, in which case you SHOULD get Caylus, as the other two games rely (more or less) on dice.

Having said that I would choose Stone Age as it is more of a "classic" worker placement game and you would like to get into that genre. To me personally, Alien Frontier does not really fit into the worker placement genre, although you place your ships (dice) on the board to get a certain benefit and I can understand why people call it a worker placement game, yet to me it does not have the worker placement feeling.