Jase 69 wrote:
When you get closer to the end zone, I have noticed on a couple of occasions that it is possible to 'complete' a pass for more yards than exist on the field of play.
Which I tend to assume = 'complete pass, Touchdown' on the basis that the pass has been caught and run into the endzone - could have gone for 24 yards, but only *needed* to go for 14.
e.g 1st and 10 at the 13. Complete a Medium Pass for 24 yards (good dice roll or includes a breakaway etc).
OR - given that this puts me 1 yard BEHIND the end line of the end zone, should I be reading this play as 'incomplete, pass too long'??
(I know I could play the incomplete variant as a 'house rule' - just throwing this out for discussion and comments before finalising my thoughts on it...)
You can't throw a medium pass from the 13. Certain passes are barred from being used after the 20, others after the 10.