Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
13 Posts

Dominion» Forums » Rules

Subject: Double Throne room rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Vlad Plushchevsky
Ukraine
flag msg tools
Hi, everybody!

My question is about Throne Room. If i place first double Throne , next action is the only one i can play twice x 2, or two actions may be played provided they cannot be doubled?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pere
Spain
La Nucia
Alicante
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Throne Room 1
+ Throne Room 2
++ Action 1
++ Action 1 Again
+ Throne Room 2 Again
++ Action 2
++ Action 2 Again

Similarly for King's Court
12 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Drew Spencer
United States
Tucson
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The key thing to remember is that nothing is "doubled." Instead, cards are "played twice." Playing a Throne Room twice would not allow you to play another card four times. The above way of organizing it is pretty good.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Cordeiro
United States
Cumberland
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The double throne room means you play throne room twice. In other words, it's like playing two throne rooms. So, you play an action card from your hand twice. Then, you play another action card from your hand twice. At this point, you'll have played two throne rooms and two other action cards (and each of the other action cards was played twice).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vlad Plushchevsky
Ukraine
flag msg tools
senseless wrote:
Throne Room 1
+ Throne Room 2
++ Action 1
++ Action 1 Again
+ Throne Room 2 Again
++ Action 2
++ Action 2 Again

Similarly for King's Court


+ Throne Room 2 Again: may it be played if there is not a chain from Action 1?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shayne Gray
United States
Akron
Ohio
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vldplusch wrote:
senseless wrote:
Throne Room 1
+ Throne Room 2
++ Action 1
++ Action 1 Again
+ Throne Room 2 Again
++ Action 2
++ Action 2 Again

Similarly for King's Court


+ Throne Room 2 Again: may it be played if there is not a chain from Action 1?


That was all played with 1 Action. No other action is needed.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
James Newton
United Kingdom
Wiltshire
flag msg tools
badge
In the interest of giving credit where credit is due, my avatar is a scan of a hand-drawn caricature by cartoonist Jim Naylor which was done at my company's 20th anniversary dinner.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vldplusch wrote:
senseless wrote:
Throne Room 1
+ Throne Room 2
++ Action 1
++ Action 1 Again
+ Throne Room 2 Again
++ Action 2
++ Action 2 Again

Similarly for King's Court


+ Throne Room 2 Again: may it be played if there is not a chain from Action 1?

Throne Room requires you to play an Action card twice. So, using the above notation,

Throne Room
+ Action 1
+ Action 1

This whole sequence only uses 1 Action (the one used to play Throne Room) - this is clarified in the Kingdom Card Descriptions if you are unsure about whether the wording on Throne Room means this. If "Action1" is a Throne Room then you get the above sequences - all the cards marked with a + are played because Throne Room tells you to, not because you are using one of your available Actions (from start of turn or + Action on cards) to do so.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Vlad Plushchevsky
Ukraine
flag msg tools
Thank you a lot!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shane Gelven
Australia
Morphett Vale
South Australia
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
This might be help, then again it might be completely wrong

Players Hand:
Throne Room
Throne Room
Smithy
Witch

Play order

1) Throne Room
2) Throne Room
3) Witch
4) repeated Witch
5) repeated Throne Room
6) Smithy
7) Repeat Smithy


Throne Room step 1)
| 1x
|_ Throne Room step 2)
| | 1x
| |_ Witch step 3)
| | 2x
| |_ Witch* step 4)
| 2x
|_ Throne Room* step 5)
| 1x
|_ Smithy step 6)
| 2x
|_ Smithy* step 7)

cool
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Judd
United States
Wright City
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
gelvo wrote:
This might be help, then again it might be completely wrong

Players Hand:
Throne Room
Throne Room
Smithy
Witch

Play order

1) Throne Room
2) Throne Room
3) Witch
4) repeated Witch
5) repeated Throne Room
6) Smithy
7) Repeat Smithy


Throne Room step 1)
| 1x
|_ Throne Room step 2)
| | 1x
| |_ Witch step 3)
| | 2x
| |_ Witch* step 4)
| 2x
|_ Throne Room* step 5)
| 1x
|_ Smithy step 6)
| 2x
|_ Smithy* step 7)

cool

It's all correct, but they don't have to play the Smithy with the second occurrence of the second Throne Room unless they have no other actions. If they drew any actions in the 4 cards drawn from Witch, they could play one of those instead, such as a 2nd Witch for 4 Curses total instead of just 2.

devil
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Staines
United Kingdom
Grimsby
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Which is exactly why with that starting hand you should try playing throne throne smithy as your opening. If you don't draw say a lab you can still play the witch twice using the second throne and with enough thrones in your deck (you must have a few to get 2 on a turn) you will probably be playing throne/witch together even if you leave it until later in your turn.

As others have said if you throne room a throne room then the second throne room is played twice. The first instance of it being played is with one action card and the second instance is with a second action card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Judd
United States
Wright City
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
High Elf Andrew wrote:
...(you must have a few to get 2 on a turn)...

You only need 2 Throne Rooms to get 2 in a single 5-card hand. There is no guarantee that there are others in the deck.

But yes, I generally agree with you. It would usually be the better option to play Smithy first, unless there are only 2 Throne Rooms and no +action cards and you really want to try to squeeze in 2 Witches or a Witch and some other attack that might be in the top 4 cards of your deck.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
NtN Scissors
Singapore
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
High Elf Andrew wrote:
Which is exactly why with that starting hand you should try playing throne throne smithy as your opening.

No, it depends on what else is in your deck, how many curses are left, etc.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.