Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Wizard Kings» Forums » Rules

Subject: New to WK (beginner wargamer in general) - Hexside limit ?'s rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jay Lacson
United States
Alamogordo
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry if this seems like an obvious question, but I'm a bit confused on the hexside limits. I'm not used to hexes on block wargames. I've only played Julius Caesar and Sekigahara, neither of which have hexes.

Does it mean only 1 unit can move through that hexside (assuming that is the hexside limit) when entering a battle? For example, I have 3 blocks each in 3 different hexes. Can I move 1 of each group through the same hexside to attack?

Or would each block have to enter from a different hexside?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
arcane220 wrote:
Does it mean only 1 unit can move through that hexside (assuming that is the hexside limit) when entering a battle? For example, I have 3 blocks each in 3 different hexes. Can I move 1 of each group through the same hexside to attack?

Or would each block have to enter from a different hexside?

Right, if a hexside limit is 1, that means only one unit can enter the battle across that side of the hex, regardless of where the unit came from. (So, in your example, they would all have to enter the battle hex across a different side.) Remember also that fliers ignore hexside limits, rivers let you move an additional aquatic, etc. And remember also that hexside limits only apply to battle hexes.
5 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Cox
Japan
Tokyo
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Also, hexside limits apply to retreating blocks each combat round, so if you want to retreat 2 units out of there in the same round, they will have to retreat via different hexsides.

Michael
6 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Lacson
United States
Alamogordo
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Does that also mean, if a hexside was used to enter a battle, it may no longer be used to retreat/regroup from the battle since it already hit its limit?

And thanks for the responses. I'm going to try and push to get this to the table in the next couple of weeks. Seems really fun.

kuhrusty wrote:
arcane220 wrote:
Does it mean only 1 unit can move through that hexside (assuming that is the hexside limit) when entering a battle? For example, I have 3 blocks each in 3 different hexes. Can I move 1 of each group through the same hexside to attack?

Or would each block have to enter from a different hexside?

Right, if a hexside limit is 1, that means only one unit can enter the battle across that side of the hex, regardless of where the unit came from. (So, in your example, they would all have to enter the battle hex across a different side.) Remember also that fliers ignore hexside limits, rivers let you move an additional aquatic, etc. And remember also that hexside limits only apply to battle hexes.
Sorry, another question...do the hexside limits apply per player or for the entire movement phase?

e.g. Player 1 is attacking Player 2 and enters hexside "B". Player 3 wants to move in to help defend. Can he also enter in hexside "B"
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rusty McFisticuffs
United States
Arcata
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
arcane220 wrote:
Does that also mean, if a hexside was used to enter a battle, it may no longer be used to retreat/regroup from the battle since it already hit its limit?

No, for retreats, the limit is per round of combat; see 5.4 and the note about Retreating in the sidebar on p. 6.

arcane220 wrote:
do the hexside limits apply per player or for the entire movement phase?

e.g. Player 1 is attacking Player 2 and enters hexside "B". Player 3 wants to move in to help defend. Can he also enter in hexside "B"

Since he's supporting the defender, yes; see the bit about Alliances in the sidebar on p. 5. (4.6 says separate limits apply to the attacker & the defender--so if the attacker hits the limit, the defender can still move guys across--and that Alliances sidebar says allies must collectively obey stacking & hexside limits.)
2 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Lacson
United States
Alamogordo
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks guys. GG for each of you!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Gottesman
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You mentioned that you have Julius Caesar. The hexside limits are analogous to the road limits in JC.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Lacson
United States
Alamogordo
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Joshuaaaaaa wrote:
You mentioned that you have Julius Caesar. The hexside limits are analogous to the road limits in JC.
Ah ok. I think there was something mentioned that the hexside limits only apply when initiating/joining battles. Is this true or am I just imagining things?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joshua Gottesman
United States
Las Vegas
Nevada
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
arcane220 wrote:
Joshuaaaaaa wrote:
You mentioned that you have Julius Caesar. The hexside limits are analogous to the road limits in JC.
Ah ok. I think there was something mentioned that the hexside limits only apply when initiating/joining battles. Is this true or am I just imagining things?


They do. Its been a bit since I looked at the JC rules. Do they apply for movement there, or just entering battles? I thought it was the latter. If its the former, ignore my post.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jay Lacson
United States
Alamogordo
New Mexico
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Joshuaaaaaa wrote:
arcane220 wrote:
Joshuaaaaaa wrote:
You mentioned that you have Julius Caesar. The hexside limits are analogous to the road limits in JC.
Ah ok. I think there was something mentioned that the hexside limits only apply when initiating/joining battles. Is this true or am I just imagining things?


They do. Its been a bit since I looked at the JC rules. Do they apply for movement there, or just entering battles? I thought it was the latter. If its the former, ignore my post.
The JC rules apply to movement in general. But, your post really helped me understand everything.

Thanks! Have some GG too!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.