Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jim Jennings
United States
upper chichester
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I am new to this game and was reading the rules and was wondering why you get to hold a card at the end of each turn? You are dealt 8 cards and there's one headline phase card and 6 action phases. Is there a good strategic advantage to holding the last card?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David F
United States
Emeryville
California
flag msg tools
Luck in games, in measured doses, is the catalyst which enables shocking game-changers that you'll remember and talk about forever.
badge
Let the Lord of Chaos rule.
mbmbmbmbmb
You don't "get to" hold a card. You must hold any cards you still have at the end of your turn (usually 1 card).

Holding that card allows you 1 more slot for not playing an unfavorable event. Or you can hold a useful card for the next turn.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Keng Leong Yeo
Singapore
Singapore
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
aka Uncle
badge
小富靠勤,中富靠智,大富靠德。
mbmbmbmbmb
What you wrote is exactly why. You have 8 cards. Under normal circumstances, you use 1 for the headline phase, and then 6 for the action phases, i.e. a total of 7. You have one card leftover and that is carried over into the next round.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sam Carroll
United States
Urbana
Illinois
flag msg tools
Soli Deo Gloria!
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, it's not "get to" as much as "often have to." There's a headline phase and six action rounds, so you'll usually play seven cards and have one left over. If you use a card like UN Intervention, you'll end without a held card. If you use the China Card, you'll end up holding one more card.