Robert Grainger
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Hampshire
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi

I'm just getting into this game, or trying to, and I have to admit my head is spinning, even with this "simple" version.

I have SPQR Deluxe, am trying the Bagradas scenario, and I'm more than a bit baffled about some pretty fundamental aspects of the game. If anyone could help, that would be great. Here we go...

1. I can't see anything in the rules about where my Overall Commander (when not assigned to a specific unit in the scenario details) is meant to be deployed. Is it with any unit of my choice?

2. Activating the Carthaginians seems simple enough - activate a formation, and use it. However, I don't understand how the Roman Hastatii and Principes are ordered together. If I activate them together, only one of the two groups (of my choice) is in command? Is that right?

3. Shock attack and zones of control... I'm confused.
a. If unit A moves into enemy B's zone of control, then A has to attack all enemies in its own (A's) zone of control. That seems odd - is this right?
b. But then the rules state that a unit can only attack once per turn, which makes sense, but seems to contradict the previous rule. I suppose I'm asking how all this is supposed to work!

3. What happens if I activate a formation and move it, but some of the units are in enemy zones of control (e.g from a flank attack)?
a. Can the whole formation move, or are the units in zones of control pinned? Does being in command allow them to move anyway?
b. If they are pinned, can the formation split and leave the other units "behind", or does the formation have to stay put?

4. If a missile unit tries to make a reaction facing change and fails, can it still do reaction missile fire (assuming the enemy is on its flank and it could therefore normally target the unit)? The rules seem ambiguous on this.

Sorry, that's a lot of questions!
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wulf Corbett
Scotland
Shotts
Lanarkshire