Popular Tags: [View All]
Jeremy Carlson
United States
Wheaton
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I just finished my first game of Wallenstein, which was played on spielbyweb.com. How did it turn out? I freakin won! The scores were 47 (me), 45, 43, and 42. Since I don't know how the scores are in other games, this seems very close. I will definitly (sp) rate this a 10. I'm in the middle of 2 other games online, which all started at the same time. I should note that, although I was a newbie to this game and won, I also read the rules a few times before I played so I knew exactly what was going on. So onto the stradegies that I used.

First I should mention that we used the beginner setup for 4 people.

In the first year of action planning, I made sure that I only battled once per season. Whatever move (A or B) came first is the one I used. I also didn't battle any player for spring or summer. I think this is a good beginning stradegy as, not only do you gain a couple of provinces, you keep the vendetta against you down by not angering another player.

Where ever you have the most of your provinces is where you should try to take control of. This might sound obvious, but I noticed that a couple of the players in a game I played try to stabilize two if not three different areas, which was their downfall. Where you have your second most provinces group is where you should do some building up. If you have a lone province, I suggest abandoning that one to fate, otherwise you will be supplying troops to a lost cause.