Louis Y
Malaysia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
In a two-player game of First Sparks, I found myself in this situation tonight:

After several rounds, I was in the lead with three clan members more than my wife's. In the next round, beginning with the Buying New Technology phase, I chose the Intelligence card (#28), and my wife declined. I bought the technology card and immediately adjusted the player order so that I became the "last player".

From that round onwards, I had the advantage when it came to the hunting, spreading, and technology phases.

I'm still learning to play First Sparks, but this situation seems odd because there didn't seem to be a way for my wife to counter my lead. Perhaps the Intelligence card should be removed in a two-player game? I appreciate any feedback from fellow board gamers.

Thanks!

Note: Edited for clarity.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Burster of Bubbles, Destroyer of Dreams.
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
Just imagine the red offboard up here. I'll create it Real Soon Now...
badge
Yes, I know a proper 18XX tile should have a tile number.
mbmbmbmbmb
I've played this 2p exactly once; the lead player bought Intelligence on the very last turn and won because of it, where they would have lost without it. I think it's very powerful in all low-player-count games.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Siege_of_Barcelona_(1713–14)
badge
https://spanishpolice.github.io
mbmbmbmbmb
I think that with 2 players there are some cards removed before starting the game. Check out that this is not one of the removed cards.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Burster of Bubbles, Destroyer of Dreams.
United States
Sunnyvale
California
flag msg tools
Just imagine the red offboard up here. I'll create it Real Soon Now...
badge
Yes, I know a proper 18XX tile should have a tile number.
mbmbmbmbmb
marticabre wrote: