Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
12 Posts

Flash Point: Fire Rescue» Forums » Rules

Subject: Family Game Question About Firefighter Action, Smoke and Flashover rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bob Marso
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
If a firefighter during his/her turn turns a fire marker into smoke and that smoke is adjacent to another fire token, does that smoke token get flipped over to a fire token immediately after the firefighter ends his/her actions or does this occur during the end of the Advance Fire step where the rules call for you to check for flashover?

Travis Worthington in this thread http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/741620/stupid-questions-from...

states that smoke next to fire is resolved at the end of the turn but I just wanted to make sure the timing was the same regardless of whether the firefighter created a new case of smoke next to fire or it resulted from the Advance Fire step.


Thanks,

Bob
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Paul S
United Kingdom
Leeds
West Yorks
flag msg tools
DARK IN HERE, ISN'T IT?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Check for flashover just the once, during the Advance Fire step. I think

Edit: subject to what Travis says below, for completeness.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kevin Salch
United States
Bristol
Connecticut
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's the way we always play it.
In fact the rules only call for checking for flashover one as you describe.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott G

Mentor
Ohio
msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
My understanding is the check is at the end... which permits the following scenario (assuming enough saved AP).

Extinguish a fire down to smoke... lead some victims through the smoke completely to the other side... (since victims can never go through fire)... and then smoke returns to fire after turn is over.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Worthington
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
2010 Releases ........................................ The Resistance, Haggis & Triumvirate ..................................... Now accepting submissions for 2011 releases ........................................ www.IndieBoardsandCards.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I check for Flashovers at the beginning and then again after the Advance Fire phase.

In the experienced game Check at beginning of Advance Fire phase, after each Advance Fire roll, and after each Explosion.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jens Thernström
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Do after each advance fire roll refer to following rounds or do you do more than one roll at the end of the players turns?

Regards
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brook Gentlestream
United States
Long Beach
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wordlyweko wrote:
Do after each advance fire roll refer to following rounds or do you do more than one roll at the end of the players turns?

Regards


More than one can occur due to hot spots. If the initial advance fire roll indicated a space with a hot spot, you roll additional fire advance rolls.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Worthington
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
2010 Releases ........................................ The Resistance, Haggis & Triumvirate ..................................... Now accepting submissions for 2011 releases ........................................ www.IndieBoardsandCards.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wordlyweko wrote:
Do after each advance fire roll refer to following rounds or do you do more than one roll at the end of the players turns?

Regards


In the family game you roll once after each players turn.

In the advance game you roll once after each player's turn - then roll again if the the space you rolled has a hot spot. Roll again each time you roll a space with a hot spot.

Hope that answers your question.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jens Thernström
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
so in a four player game you roll four times, after each player have taken their turn? Not just once when all players have taken their turn?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Travis Worthington
United States
California
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
2010 Releases ........................................ The Resistance, Haggis & Triumvirate ..................................... Now accepting submissions for 2011 releases ........................................ www.IndieBoardsandCards.com
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
wordlyweko wrote:
so in a four player game you roll four times, after each player have taken their turn? Not just once when all players have taken their turn?



yes
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jens Thernström
Sweden
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
ok thanks =) that's explains a bit^^
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
T Worthington wrote:
I check for Flashovers at the beginning and then again after the Advance Fire phase.

In the experienced game Check at beginning of Advance Fire phase, after each Advance Fire roll, and after each Explosion.

Is this an errata to the rules then? The advanced version of the game clearly states that Flashovers take place in step 3. There is nothing stating it is step 0 and step 7.

This makes a big difference because smoke that is adjacent to fire would remain smoke at the time you roll. If it is the Advance Fire roll, it just becomes fire again (which it would do eventually anyways). But if you flip it before the Advance Fire roll, this smoke becomes fire and the Advance Fire roll would cause an explosion.

This is a big change in the rules that does not have the same net effect.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.