Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

The Battle for Normandy» Forums » Rules

Subject: Overstacking and beach hexes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Blue Tiger
Australia
flag msg tools
Do first wave units all land even if there are 3 companies already in their landing hex - obviously due to drifting. IE can there be as many as 6 companies in a single beach hexes due to drift?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tom Stearns
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
If units drift such that proceeding units would cause overstack if they were to land (meaning they didnt drift themselves) then the units assigned to land that didn;t drift remain at sea in the assault box rather than overstacking. The stacking value of assault hexes (at sea) is 3 UNITS plus support units (which dont count for stacking). On the beach hex itself the stacking limit is 6 stacking POINTS. Companies are 2 stacking points each, thus only 3 companies may stack on beach hex. The detailed example of the assault landings gives a good description of how it works.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blue Tiger
Australia
flag msg tools
Thanks I was pretty sure that was how it worked. By support units do you mean artillery and hqs?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason TIPPLE
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
bluetiger80 wrote:
Thanks I was pretty sure that was how it worked. By support units do you mean artillery and hqs?


No, he means the support counters such as crocodile tanks, royal assault engineers etc. Artillery and HQs DO count against the 6 point stacking limit on the beach hex as per the stacking points on their counter (normally 1 for the HQs and 1 or more for the artillery).

Also, remember that HQ and artillery cannot land in enemy Zone of Control, so you need a beach hex clear of EZOC before they can land.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.