Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Hawaii» Forums » Rules

Subject: Placing Price Tokens rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Christopher Hill
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I got to play my first game of Hawaii yesterday and I thought it was a very fun game. The rules are pretty straight forward, but we did have one question regarding the price tokens.

On one round we didn't have enough tokens to fill the circles on the beach, so we just placed what we could. We were playing three player and only had one token left after filling up the place tile spots and fish in the cove. We had a few ties when placing the tokens onto the board and in the rules it states even if there is a tie draw another token and put it into the cove for fishing. With all the ties we had extra fish in the cove and not enough for the circles on the beach.

So, did we play it right? In this situation do you only put out what tokens you can? In our example we just placed the token on the third spot and the first two had none.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rik Van Horn
United States
Livonia
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Were you putting all the tokens back in the bag after each turn?

In essence, each turn begins with all the tokens in the bag, so you should never run out. We had no such problems in our first play Saturday.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Werner Bär
Germany
Karlsruhe
Baden
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
kinga1965 wrote:
We had a few ties when placing the tokens onto the board and in the rules it states even if there is a tie draw another token and put it into the cove for fishing. With all the ties we had extra fish in the cove and not enough for the circles on the beach.

It isn't possible that there are too few tokens; especially, it isn't possible that there are not enough tokens in one round only, since you always draw the same amount.

Judging from your wording, it sounds that you misunderstood one point in the rules. It's never stated "draw another token"; but there's something like "even in this case, you draw a token". You always draw exactly one token per spot on the map, and place it either on that spot or in the fishing area.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Hill
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Werbaer wrote:
kinga1965 wrote:
We had a few ties when placing the tokens onto the board and in the rules it states even if there is a tie draw another token and put it into the cove for fishing. With all the ties we had extra fish in the cove and not enough for the circles on the beach.

It isn't possible that there are too few tokens; especially, it isn't possible that there are not enough tokens in one round only, since you always draw the same amount.

Judging from your wording, it sounds that you misunderstood one point in the rules. It's never stated "draw another token"; but there's something like "even in this case, you draw a token". You always draw exactly one token per spot on the map, and place it either on that spot or in the fishing area.


Thanks Werner! Yes, I did misunderstand that line in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher Hill
United States
Wilmington
North Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rokkr wrote:
Were you putting all the tokens back in the bag after each turn?

In essence, each turn begins with all the tokens in the bag, so you should never run out. We had no such problems in our first play Saturday.


We were doing that part correctly. Thanks for your input, Rick.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.