Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Descent: The Sea of Blood» Forums » General

Subject: Question on use of power surges rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael Richards

Clinton
Iowa
msg tools
We have a debate going on in our group currently involving power surges. The question is the following:

Does a hero have to declare how they want to use surges before their attack roll?

The thought being that you can't change the purpuse of a bullet/grenade after you toss it. If a weapon allows surges to be used for pierce or damage, do you need to declare what the surges will be used for ahead of time. We're about split 50/50. My thoughts are yes but I'd like to get other members feedback.

Thanks,
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ron
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
Step 1. Roll to see how many surges you get.
Step 2. Decide how to use the surges.

How can you declare how you want to use surges if you don't know how many you'll have?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ed Rozmiarek
United States
Liberty Hill
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hate to say it, but this is covered clearly by the base rules, page 9:

Quote:
Step 1: Declare Attack
Step 2: Confirm Line of Sight
Step 3: Count Range and Roll Attack
Step 4: Spend Power Surges, Power Enhancements, and Fatigue
Step 5: Determine Attack Success
Step 6: Inflict Wounds

Spending surges comes after rolling the dice.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can even decide after you spend fatigue to roll for additional surges. So you can roll, decide you don't have enough surges, roll some more, change your mind on what you were going to spend your surges on, and then spend them.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.