Daniel Trakulhoon
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Blessing's upkeep = roll a die and discard this card on 1.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jones
United States
Wilsonville
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No. Mandy's ability specifically states that it can be used on a SKILL CHECK. The blessing is not a skill check.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
More generally, a SKILL CHECK is any check that uses one of your six slider skills. Rolls for blessings/retainers, or "roll a die for each point of stamina" or "roll a die and gain that many clues" aren't skill checks. You can't spend clues to add to those rolls, and you can't use Mandy's ability to re-roll them.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Trakulhoon
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Another question, does Bind Monster spell - Cast and discard this spell to pass one Combat check. You must roll successes equal to the monster's toughness to cast this spell.

Does this spell only work IF it's EXACTLY success = toughness of monster? Can it be "equal to or greater than?" Cuz this would mean the higher the dice roll, potentially the lower the chance of killing the monster.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
brian
United States
Cedar Lake
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Trakky wrote:
Another question, does Bind Monster spell - Cast and discard this spell to pass one Combat check. You must roll successes equal to the monster's toughness to cast this spell.

Does this spell only work IF it's EXACTLY success = toughness of monster? Can it be "equal to or greater than?" Cuz this would mean the higher the dice roll, potentially the lower the chance of killing the monster.

Equal to or greater. To be successful, you just need to meet the toughness. There is no penalty for exceeding it.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Damon Baume
Australia
Lismore
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Trakky wrote:
Can it be "equal to or greater than?"


Yes, you don't need to roll exactly the monster's toughness.

2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The spell is working as an effective substitute where you're using Lore and a Spell Check rather than Fight and a Combat Check to kill the monster. Thus, you need a number of successes equal to OR greater than.

Note that, since the spell does not offer a combat bonus, a monster's Magical Immunity does not make it immune to the spell. Just a nice little thing to point out.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Trakulhoon
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Wow thx so much!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Subramanian Krishnamurthy
United States
Evanston
Illinois
flag msg tools
kungfro wrote:
Note that, since the spell does not offer a combat bonus, a monster's Magical Immunity does not make it immune to the spell. Just a nice little thing to point out.


Really? We thought that any spell can't be used.You seem to say only spells that provide combat bonuses can't be used for magical immunity, is that correct?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rauli Kettunen
Finland
Oulu
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
subrak13 wrote:
Really? We thought that any spell can't be used. You seem to say only spells that provide combat bonuses can't be used for magical immunity, is that correct?


It's the classic Shotgun-paradox. Shotgun is a +4 Physical Weapon that also has an ability of 6s = 2 success. Against Physical Immunity monster, +4 -> +0, but 6s = 2 succees still applies (RAW that is).
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
That's right. Magical Resistance cuts a combat bonus granted by a spell or weapon in half (round up). Magical immunity cuts a combat bonus granted by a spell or weapon to zero.

Bind Monster does not grant a combat check, nor does Red Sign of Shudde M'ell; and while it hasn't been clarified officially, I suspect the all-round +1 to skill checks granted by Voice of Ra is unaffected by magical immunity.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Jensen
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

Quote:
It's the classic Shotgun-paradox. Shotgun is a +4 Physical Weapon that also has an ability of 6s = 2 success. Against Physical Immunity monster, +4 -> +0, but 6s = 2 succees still applies (RAW that is).


Not sure these are the same thing. Bind Monster does not affect a combat check. It captures the monster using a different mechanic and bypasses the traditional modification to combat roll.

Shotgun on the other hand is a physical item used to add dice to your check where the traditional mechanic is used; ie a combat check. While I don't think anyone argues the +4 cannot be used on physical immune, I would suggest the doubles 6s shouldn't apply either.

Think of the difference as being entering combat vs casting a spell prior to combat. Another logical thought might be; if you've failed to cast bind monster you would still have a combat check. Hence how different these items really are.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.