Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question on movement, LoS and ordnance weapons rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Stefan Hechtl
Germany
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
A couple of rules questions that came up in our last CC:E sessions

1. Movement
Let's assume we're on open ground, we have a line squad with 4 movement in hex A and a 2-command-leader in hex B that is 4 hexes away. The squad is activated to move and moves into the leaders hex (spending 4 MPs). How many hexes is the squad allowed to move now?
0 - Because it already spent its initial 4 MPs
1 - Because it gets a bonus while stacked with the leader but when it moves onto the next hex its current MP is at "-1"
2 - Because it may spend the full MPs provided by the leader eventhough he is not moving with the unit

2. Edge of the map
What is the edge of the map considered with regards to LOS? As an example: Can a unit in hex A1 trace LOS to a unit in C1 or is LOS hindered/blocked in any way?

3. Firing ordnance weapons
I'm getting confused by two sections from the rulebook with regards to firing ordnance weapons through hinderance. Let's assume your targeting roll with an ordnance weapon is successful, how do you calculate the Attack Total?

From O20.3:
"Generally, a unit’s FP – modified both by
Command and by any Hindrances between
itself and the target – is added to a “Fire
Attack Roll” to arrive at an “Attack Total”.

But from O20.3.2:
"If the LOS from any non-Ordnance firing
piece and the target hex is hindered [10.3],
that shot’s FP is reduced by the largest such
Hindrance."

As I understand, hinderance has NO impact on the Attack Total of the ordnance weapon, it just makes your targeting roll harder.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John McLintock
Scotland
Glasgow
Lanarkshire
flag msg tools
badge
"Roll dice and kick ass!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EinGlasWurstWasser wrote:
A couple of rules questions that came up in our last CC:E sessions

1. Movement
Let's assume we're on open ground, we have a line squad with 4 movement in hex A and a 2-command-leader in hex B that is 4 hexes away. The squad is activated to move and moves into the leaders hex (spending 4 MPs). How many hexes is the squad allowed to move now?
0 - Because it already spent its initial 4 MPs
1 - Because it gets a bonus while stacked with the leader but when it moves onto the next hex its current MP is at "-1"
2 - Because it may spend the full MPs provided by the leader eventhough he is not moving with the unit

Option 1: the unit gains the leader's bonus, spends it, then loses it as soon as they exit the leader's hex.

Quote:
2. Edge of the map
What is the edge of the map considered with regards to LOS? As an example: Can a unit in hex A1 trace LOS to a unit in C1 or is LOS hindered/blocked in any way?

I believe that A1 could see C1 if there is no LOS obstacle in B1; eg. on map #1, the woods in B1 block the A1-C1 LOS, but D1 doesn't block the C1-E1 LOS. Someone else will have to confirm this.
Quote:
3. Firing ordnance weapons
I'm getting confused by two sections from the rulebook with regards to firing ordnance weapons through hinderance. Let's assume your targeting roll with an ordnance weapon is successful, how do you calculate the Attack Total?

From O20.3:
"Generally, a unit’s FP – modified both by
Command and by any Hindrances between
itself and the target – is added to a “Fire
Attack Roll” to arrive at an “Attack Total”.

But from O20.3.2:
"If the LOS from any non-Ordnance firing
piece and the target hex is hindered [10.3],
that shot’s FP is reduced by the largest such
Hindrance."

As I understand, hinderance has NO impact on the Attack Total of the ordnance weapon, it just makes your targeting roll harder.

That's how it works, yes.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Simone dalla Chiesa
Italy
Cassina de' Pecchi
Milano
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EinGlasWurstWasser wrote:
1. Movement
Let's assume we're on open ground, we have a line squad with 4 movement in hex A and a 2-command-leader in hex B that is 4 hexes away. The squad is activated to move and moves into the leaders hex (spending 4 MPs). How many hexes is the squad allowed to move now?


The unit may spend two more MPs, coming from the Leader's bonus. So it can get into any adjacent hex with a cost of 1 or 2 MPs. Then it has to stop there (unless another Leader is present), because it has exceeded its printed MPs.

EinGlasWurstWasser wrote:
2. Edge of the map
What is the edge of the map considered with regards to LOS? As an example: Can a unit in hex A1 trace LOS to a unit in C1 or is LOS hindered/blocked in any way?


Any LOS blocking obstacle touching the map edge would block LOS. For instance, a Wood touching the "northern" hexside between B1 and the map edge would block LOS.

EinGlasWurstWasser wrote:
3. Firing ordnance weapons
I'm getting confused by two sections from the rulebook with regards to firing ordnance weapons through hinderance. Let's assume your targeting roll with an ordnance weapon is successful, how do you calculate the Attack Total?

As I understand, hinderance has NO impact on the Attack Total of the ordnance weapon, it just makes your targeting roll harder.


Exactly so: Hindrance hinders the Targeting Roll; the Attack Roll would be unhindered.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cindy Nowak
United States
Kenosha
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

1. Movement

Discussed in quite a few threads, probably most recently here

RPardoe wrote:
Agree, it can move an additional hex.

Unit spends its last MP to move with into the hex with the leader. Let's assume it is a 2-Command Rating leader. Unit now gets +2 to its Movement Factor and moves to the next hex spending 1 MP. In the new hex, the unit loses the leader bonus and (having spent all available movement factors) is unable to move.

The one situation where it could move 2 hexes....it moves with its last MP onto the leader. Using the leader bonus, it then moves onto a road hex where it loses the leader bonus, but now gains +1 Movement for the road bonus.


Illustrated example from RPardoe (who else!)
RPardoe wrote:

Let's illustrate with an example:

The Russian squad spends 4 MP to get into the leader's hex. Now they have 2 MP left (all from the command bonus of the leader.) They move one more hex (spending 1 MP to do so). In hex B9, they lose the leader bonus and have spent 5 MP against 4 Movement available to them. At this point, they have no MP available for any further move, so must stop 1 hex after the leader.



2. Edge of Map

This question was discussed here and Chad said this about the map edge:

Chad Jensen wrote:
There are no half-hexes in CC. Each map has 150 whole hexes, all of which are entirely playable.

Chad Jensen wrote:
This is no different than LOS across any other hexside:

1. If the hexside in question contains blocking terrain, the LOS is blocked (EX: map 5, F10 to H10);

2. If the hexside in question contains hindering terrain, the LOS is hindered (EX: map 5, B10 to D10);

3. If the hexside in question contains neither of the above, the LOS is clear (EX: map 5, L10 to N10).
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.