Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Chinese Civil War» Forums » Rules

Subject: Request for clarifications rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Juha Metsäkallas
Finland
Turku
V-S
flag msg tools
mb
Hello!

I'm currently playing Chinese Civil War by 3W (the boxed version) after a long time, and in our play several questions have been raised.

7.4 ZOCs of communication police units

The picture should illustrate where the ZOCs extend, but I can't see any markings in the picture. Does the ZOC extend to (a) adjacent hexes reachable by railroad or road, or (b) all adjacent hexes with railroad or road?

7.6 Negated PLA ZOCs

The rule as such is clear, but are KMT ZOCs also negated by presence of PLA units for purpose of tracking supply route?

8.9 Combined movement

Let's see whether we have understood the rule correct. A KMT unit may combine the three movement modes – land, rail and sea – freely expending one railroad or one sea load factor every time it moves by railroad resp. by sea. So if it moves by rail, by land and then again by rail two railroad load factors are expended. Right or wrong?

Furthermore, whenever the first unit combines movement an extra railroad and/or sea load factor is expended. Right or wrong?

8.8 and 12.2 KMT air supply

There are some confusion in, if not contradiction between, the rules and the two examples on p. 6, so let's clarify this also.

It costs a supply unit to purchase an air unit, but (a) does it remain for free on the map on following turns, or (b) must be paid every turn?

If the air unit is used to transport a supply unit, another supply unit must be paid for transporting it. Therefore, purchasing an air unit and transporting a supply unit involves three supply units, first for purchasing, second for paying the transport and third is the transported one. Right or wrong?

11.3 Isolation

When is the supply route checked? Do both check at same time or do KMT and PLA have their own check phases?

12.4 Ningsia supply unit

Once this one-time supply unit is gone, Ningsia units can use other supply units. Right or wrong?

13.3 Multi-zone attacks

May KMT units in a warzone with their HQ attack combined a PLA unit in adjacent warzone, i.e. across the boundary?

13.4 Zone abandonment

When exactly is a warzone abandoned? When none of its own units nor its HQ remain?

13.5 and 19.1 Headquarters

Where can a destroyed HQ be brought back? Does it count against the 6 factor limit?

16.1 Intrinsic defense

The rules say (16.1b) that KMT cities with point values of 3 and higher have an intrinsic defense value, but TEC says only cities with point value of 4 and higher. Which one is correct?

TIA,

Metsis
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Chandler
Arizona (AZ)
flag msg tools
Gott Mit Uns!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
7.4 ZOCs of communication police units

The picture should illustrate where the ZOCs extend, but I can't see any markings in the picture. Does the ZOC extend to (a) adjacent hexes reachable by railroad or road, or (b) all adjacent hexes with railroad or road? Along road and rails which it may travel along.

7.6 Negated PLA ZOCs

The rule as such is clear, but are KMT ZOCs also negated by presence of PLA units for purpose of tracking supply route? Supply can always be traced through your own units regardless of enemies of ZOC's. This is not so for movement.

8.9 Combined movement

Let's see whether we have understood the rule correct. A KMT unit may combine the three movement modes – land, rail and sea – freely expending one railroad or one sea load factor every time it moves by railroad resp. by sea. So if it moves by rail, by land and then again by rail two railroad load factors are expended. Right or wrong? No in this Case three, 1 for rail, 1 for sea, and again 1 for rail.

Furthermore, whenever the first unit combines movement an extra railroad and/or sea load factor is expended. Right or wrong? I don't recall such a rule?


8.8 and 12.2 KMT air supply

There are some confusion in, if not contradiction between, the rules and the two examples on p. 6, so let's clarify this also.

It costs a supply unit to purchase an air unit, but (a) does it remain for free on the map on following turns, or (b) must be paid every turn? Once traded for the air unit, the air unit may be placed in any 3,4,5 point city and for 1 turn it may be used to race supply to regardless of range(this is general supply only)

If the air unit is used to transport a supply unit, another supply unit must be paid for transporting it. Therefore, purchasing an air unit and transporting a supply unit involves three supply units, first for purchasing, second for paying the transport and third is the transported one. Right or wrong? Air Supply and Air Movement are two different things. Air Supply is the act of trading in one supply from anywhere on the board in exchange for a single air supply unit, which allows any unit on the board to trace a normal supply path to it regardless of range for 1 complete turn at which point the unit is removed for a turn and than given back as the normal supply unit it was exchanged for. Air Transport or Air movement on the other hand is the act of taking a supply unit from one 3,4,or 5 point city and transferring it to another one for 1 movement factor.

11.3 Isolation

When is the supply route checked? Do both check at same time or do KMT and PLA have their own check phases? Attack supply is checked for KMT player at moment of attack and general supply is traced for both players at end of turn.

12.4 Ningsia supply unit

Once this one-time supply unit is gone, Ningsia units can use other supply units. Right or wrong? Right, but the Nigesia supply unit may not be rebuilt.

13.3 Multi-zone attacks

May KMT units in a warzone with their HQ attack combined a PLA unit in adjacent warzone, i.e. across the boundary? No.

13.4 Zone abandonment

When exactly is a warzone abandoned? When none of its own units nor its HQ remain? When there is at least 1 PLA combat unit in the Provence,(not guerrilla)and the KMT player states that he is abandoning the province, the PLA player receives 1 Base Marker which he may save or place later in that war zone. The unit who have abandoned that war zone may now combine attacks with other provincial units and use applicable leader ship values, they still may never stack with other provincial units, nor may they receive reinforcements until their respective HQ is back in its home province.


13.5 and 19.1 Headquarters

Where can a destroyed HQ be brought back? Does it count against the 6 factor limit? Yes, and After two full turns on a friendly inland city.

16.1 Intrinsic defense

The rules say (16.1b) that KMT cities with point values of 3 and higher have an intrinsic defense value, but TEC says only cities with point value of 4 and higher. Which one is correct? I would say it 3,4, and 5 cities.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Chandler
Arizona (AZ)
flag msg tools
Gott Mit Uns!
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
8.9 Combined movement

Let's see whether we have understood the rule correct. A KMT unit may combine the three movement modes – land, rail and sea – freely expending one railroad or one sea load factor every time it moves by railroad resp. by sea. So if it moves by rail, by land and then again by rail two railroad load factors are expended. Right or wrong? No in this Case three, 1 for rail, 1 for sea, and again 1 for rail.

if it uses combined movement it than losses 1 factor on rail or by sea which ever you are combining with. please disregard what I stated above, had to go back and read
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.