Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

The Great Battles of Alexander» Forums » Rules

Subject: Momentum adjustments rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Tim
United States
Frederick
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In looking over the rules I cannot find how the Momentum die roll is adjusted to determine whether that leader can be activated again or not.

In 5.32, it states "The player rolls the die and compares the results to the leader's Initiative Rating. If it is the same or less than the rating that leader starts another Orders Phase; if more than the rating that leader is finished for the turn."

Then in 5.33 it continues "If the Momentum die roll is an adjusted '9' (see 5.34) then the die roll is immediately rolled again...."

However, 5.34 states "Momentum dierolls apply only to a leader who has just completed an Orders Phase...."

What do I base the adjustment on to possibly get a final result of 0, 7, 8, or 9 that is stated in rule 5.33?

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Australia
Sebastopol (Ballarat)
Victoria
flag msg tools
That's Karl on the left. Eternity on the right.
badge
I love Melissa, but don't tell her. It's a secret if she can find this. Shhhhh....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No adjustments that I can recall.

Deluxe did away with the word "adjusted" and reads:

5.33 The Die roll of Doom. If the Momentum die roll is a ‘9’, then
the die is immediately rolled again.

So the second roll is used on the Die roll of Doom table:

1. If the second die roll is a ‘9’ the leader has had a Crisis of Faith
(or "Second Thoughts"). All friendly combat units within one-half
his range, rounded up, must Withdraw two hexes, even if they are
in an enemy ZOC. Withdrawing units observe the requirements of
6.72[1] and [3]. The leader also Withdraws, and is now Finished.
2. If the second die roll is a ‘0’ or ‘1’, Re-Activation is possible.
Play immediately transfers to the opposing player who may
activate any one of his leaders, regardless of whether they are
Finished or not! Such a Re-Activated leader may not use Momentum
himself.
3. If the second die roll is a ‘2–8’ the leader attempting Momentum
is Finished. Go Back to Phase “A”.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim
United States
Frederick
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks Randy, but what I also just realized is that this game is not dealing with a standard d6 but with a d10 and that a die roll of a '9' is very possible. blush
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.