Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

A Game of Thrones: The Card Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Newbie questions.... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josh
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Wife and i had our first play tonight. Enjoyed the game and will continue tomorrow, but have some gumby questions.

1) When Valar Morghulis is played do both players kill all their characters in play? Can you use event cards to reverse the effects of this if possible?

2) When a character is played that recieves a power token on it, if that character is killed, does the token also become discarded?

more to come...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Fred Obedoza
Philippines
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Yes both players kill their characters when Valar gets revealed. Not sure if there are events that can cancel plots...
2) If the character is killed, all tokens on it get discarded as well.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jimmie Andersson
Sweden
Malmö
Skåne
flag msg tools
badge
Uuurrh! I let him in, uuuhh, was that not cool? Arrrarrh...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can prevent the "when revealed" with Outwit (but you have to know when your opponent is gonna Valar) http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/GoTCards.html/_/secrets-...

Also, you can save characters (with dupes, bodyguard etc) or prevent kills by cards like The Power Of Blood http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/GoTCards.html/_/core-set...
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason Z
United States
Austin
Texas
flag msg tools
ilgoga wrote:
You can prevent the "when revealed" with Outwit (but you have to know when your opponent is gonna Valar) http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/GoTCards.html/_/secrets-...

Also, you can save characters (with dupes, bodyguard etc) or prevent kills by cards like The Power Of Blood http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/GoTCards.html/_/core-set...


Does power of blood also protect opponent's noble characters?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Buz
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, the Power of Blood also works on opponent's characters.

Your characters can also be saved from Valar by events or character abilities, such as Maester Aemon's ability to kneel to save a Night's Watch character in play (he saves himself). Or, discard a duplicate or a card like Bodyguard or Gilded Plate.

Also, note that cards like the Power of Blood can't be used to get around military claim. You can't say, "I'll kill Cersei Lannister for my claim. Oh wait, she's noble so she doesn't die." You have to choose a character to be removed, insofar as it is possible. If you have only Noble characters on your board, then you don't have to kill one of them. Power of Blood works more consistently against Deadly challenges--if all of your defending characters are noble, the Deadly won't end up killing any of them because the nobles would be your only choice in that scenario.

Finding these and similar interactions is part of the fun of the game! Soon, you'll be wanting expansions to widen your ability to control these synergies. Enjoy the game!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt Shinners
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
Avatar
jszair wrote:
ilgoga wrote:
You can prevent the "when revealed" with Outwit (but you have to know when your opponent is gonna Valar) http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/GoTCards.html/_/secrets-...

Also, you can save characters (with dupes, bodyguard etc) or prevent kills by cards like The Power Of Blood http://www.cardgamedb.com/index.php/GoTCards.html/_/core-set...


Does power of blood also protect opponent's noble characters?


Yes.

A good rule for the game is to take everything stated literally. If a card was only going to apply to your cards, it would say so. If the card is neutral in language as to whose cards it is going to affect, then it affects everyone's cards.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josh
Australia
flag msg tools
mbmbmb
Ok

Another question

Is there a way to defeat locations? Do they just build up and up?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Buz
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the Core set alone, there are no cards that spring to mind as "location control" cards. If you buy the Greyjoy expansion, there are a few in there, as well as scattered throughout the other chapter packs and such.

The permanence of locations usually makes them a decent choice to try to get out early.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Buz
United States
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Actually, I overlooked "Fleeing to the Wall," a Baratheon Core Plot card. That makes each player discard down to three locations. It's comparable to Wildfire Assault's effect on characters.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nox Noxley
Germany
Waldstetten
flag msg tools
I have got a question concerning a symbol in front of some card's name. It looks like a loop or a horizontal 8 (mathematical infinity?).

I found no explanation in my rule book. What does it mean?


Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Mills
United States
Los Angeles
CA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It means that the text of the card provides it some mechanism for coming back from your discard and/or dead pile. The symbol itself has no meaning; it serves only as a reminder.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.