United States
Commerce Township
Michigan
flag msg tools
Professor, isn't it time for your nap?
badge
YES, DAMMIT!
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi everybody! I'm brand new to Dominion (just played my first game with my wife!) and I had a question about the Library card. It says to draw up to 7 cards, and if you get any action cards while drawing you can set them aside, then discard them.

I don't seem to grasp the point behind doing this. You get action cards that you set aside, just to discard?

I'm sure there's a completely logical and simple explanation. Can someone enlighten me as to how this is a beneficial thing?

Thanks!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Sandmanx82 wrote:
Hi everybody! I'm brand new to Dominion (just played my first game with my wife!) and I had a question about the Library card. It says to draw up to 7 cards, and if you get any action cards while drawing you can set them aside, then discard them.

I don't seem to grasp the point behind doing this. You get action cards that you set aside, just to discard?

It's a card that draws non-action cards. Like Gold. Or Silver.

edit: I need to play this card more often. I totally forgot setting aside actions was optional.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
You're also free to keep Action cards you draw; you aren't required to set them aside. But Library does not provide +1 Action, so Actions drawn with it will often be useless, which makes having the ability to set them aside and draw other cards instead useful.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Goldfarb
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
If you don't have the right to play another action after playing the Library, then you'd rather not draw Action cards into your hand, because they'd just be useless. The Library lets you set them aside and draw something else instead.