BoardGameGeek» Forums » Board Game Design » Board Game Design

Subject: Need Advice rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bryan Herrera
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
I have been writing a game in which combines both RPG and board game tactics.

It is historical in nature concentrating on a period during WWII.

I have been writing this off and on for several years, which at the time RPG and board games were very popular. However, today they are not as popular, and as a result, not much of a market.

Therefore, should I continue to plow myself through this subject matter, which I have already written 45 sections with nearly 200 pages, or should I try to sell my idea instead? And if so, how do I go about doing this.

What should be my best approach to this dilemma?

What would you do in my position?

Thank you,
Bryan
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Hahn
Canada
Waterloo
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Skate to where the puck is going to be, not to where it is now.

My feeling is that RPGs and war games wax and wane in popularity. I'm not up to date on how those genres are doing (which is probably a good indicator to me that they're in the 'wane' phase), but now is probably a really SMART time to work on the game. Get it done in time for the genres to become popular again.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Agent J
United States
Coldwater
Michigan
flag msg tools
He's looking real sharp in his 1940's fedora. He's got nerves of steel, an iron will, and several other metal-themed attributes. His fur is water tight and he's always up for a fight.
badge
He's a semi-aquatic egg-laying mammal of action. He's a furry little flat-foot who'll never flinch from a fray. He's got more than just mad skills, he's got a beaver tail and a bill.
mbmbmbmbmb