Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Battlestar Galactica: The Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question regarding wording in Pilot rules: rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jared Harkness
United States
Seattle
WA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
On page 26 it says "In addition to the normal things that a player may do during his Action step, he may also choose to activate his viper."

Does this mean:

That the pilot may conduct one action and THEN activate his viper?

OR

That the pilot just has the option to activate the viper during his Action step in addition to the other options available to him?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Loke
Canada
Richmond
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
BUT MY DREAMS THEY AREN'T AS EMPTY
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JaredRules wrote:


That the pilot just has the option to activate the viper during his Action step in addition to the other options available to him?


This.

Don't you love ambiguous wording?
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jared Harkness
United States
Seattle
WA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Thanks for your help!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gert Meyer
Denmark
Trekantsområdet
flag msg tools
badge
Skål - Cheers - Gom Bui - Prost - Almien - Salut - Kampai - Na Zdrowie - Gan Bae - Qapla
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
schmloof wrote:
JaredRules wrote:


That the pilot just has the option to activate the viper during his Action step in addition to the other options available to him?


This.

Don't you love ambiguous wording?


Yup. When you're in a viper, activating it is simply the location action. When you think of it like that, it all makes better sense.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Igor Brígido B. Sales
Brazil
Fortaleza
Ceará
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JaredRules wrote:
That the pilot just has the option to activate the viper during his Action step in addition to the other options available to him?


No.

He can use an action from a card as well.
In other words, this means that a Pilot may move, and then by activating his/her own viper, move again.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
detinn wrote:
JaredRules wrote:
That the pilot just has the option to activate the viper during his Action step in addition to the other options available to him?


No.

He can use an action from a card as well.
In other words, this means that a Pilot may move, and then by activating his/her own viper, move again.


I'm afraid I can't make sense of what you say here.

While piloting a viper, a player may spend a move to move to a neighbouring sector, or to discard a skill card (of their choice, even if they're Apollo) and move (returning their viper to the reserves) to any location on Colonial One or Galactica (or Pegasus or New Caprica if those boards are in play)

They may spend an action to activate their viper - to move or to attack (or escort a civilian if playing the relevant Exodus option) - or to use an action from a card.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Colin Sham
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
That's exactly what a Cylon would say!
badge
All is dust...
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
detinn wrote:
JaredRules wrote:
That the pilot just has the option to activate the viper during his Action step in addition to the other options available to him?


No.

He can use an action from a card as well.
In other words, this means that a Pilot may move, and then by activating his/her own viper, move again.


You should re-read JaredRules's statement. He said the same thing you said. A pilot has a list of actions, which happens to include activating the viper. But the pilot just has one action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gert Meyer
Denmark
Trekantsområdet
flag msg tools
badge
Skål - Cheers - Gom Bui - Prost - Almien - Salut - Kampai - Na Zdrowie - Gan Bae - Qapla
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ridel wrote:
detinn wrote:
JaredRules wrote:
That the pilot just has the option to activate the viper during his Action step in addition to the other options available to him?


No.

He can use an action from a card as well.
In other words, this means that a Pilot may move, and then by activating his/her own viper, move again.


You should re-read JaredRules's statement. He said the same thing you said. A pilot has a list of actions, which happens to include activating the viper. But the pilot just has one action.


I think you are all trying to say the same thing, but getting your wires crossed with the wording

Let's just break it down so we don't confuse any noobs stumbling across this thread

A character piloting a Viper still follows the same turn sequence as everyone else. That means: One (optional) move followed by one action per turn.

If you're in a Viper during the Movement phase, you can move it one space as your character move that turn. Or you can discard one card to transfer your character to either Galactica or Colonial One and put the Viper back in the reserves.

If you're in a Viper during the Action phase you can use any character or skill card actions as normal. You can also use your location action instead (just like almost every other location except for Sick Bay) which allows you to Activate your Viper. When you Activate your Viper, you can do one of two things: A) Move it one space just like during Movement; or B) make one attack against an enemy ship in your current space.

Over and out
2 
 Thumb up
0.02
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Just for completeness, there are two other viper activations:

Launching is, obviously impossible - if you're in the viper in space, you can't move it from the reserves to one of the launch sectors because it's in space, not in the reserves.

Escorting a civilian is only applicable when playing with the relevant option from Exodus (the Cylon Fleet Board option), but if you are, it's a valid action for a piloted viper.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mindy G
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Mold the chaos into something beautiful
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rmsgrey wrote:

Launching is, obviously impossible - if you're in the viper in space, you can't move it from the reserves to one of the launch sectors because it's in space, not in the reserves.


Unless you're Apollo.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
oriecat wrote:
rmsgrey wrote:

Launching is, obviously impossible - if you're in the viper in space, you can't move it from the reserves to one of the launch sectors because it's in space, not in the reserves.


Unless you're Apollo.


Not even Apollo can launch the Viper he is already sitting in - if he's not in a Viper, he can launch one and end up sitting in it, but, then, so can any other pilot.

Apollo is unique in that he's the only character who can get into space while the Hangar Deck is damaged - he can even do it when Command is damaged too...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
SoCal
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
rmsgrey wrote:
oriecat wrote:
rmsgrey wrote:

Launching is, obviously impossible - if you're in the viper in space, you can't move it from the reserves to one of the launch sectors because it's in space, not in the reserves.


Unless you're Apollo.


Not even Apollo can launch the Viper he is already sitting in - if he's not in a Viper, he can launch one and end up sitting in it, but, then, so can any other pilot.

Apollo is unique in that he's the only character who can get into space while the Hangar Deck is damaged - he can even do it when Command is damaged too...
Unless you're playing with the CFB from Exodus and Return To Duty comes up
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mindy G
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Mold the chaos into something beautiful
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Apollo can be sitting in his viper, pay a card to land in Command, then launch 2 vipers, including relaunching the one he was just in and then be sitting in it again. But maybe I'm misunderstanding the distinction you were trying to make.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Stewart
United Kingdom
Newcastle-upon-Tyne
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
oriecat wrote:
Apollo can be sitting in his viper, pay a card to land in Command, then launch 2 vipers, including relaunching the one he was just in and then be sitting in it again. But maybe I'm misunderstanding the distinction you were trying to make.


Any pilot can land in the Hangar Deck and relaunch their Viper.

What no-one can do is start their action sitting in a Viper and use their action to activate that viper, launching it...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.