Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Ticket to Ride» Forums » Rules

Subject: Claiming gray routes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eddie Meister
United States
Peoria
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry if this has been asked before; I couldn't find it any of the forums.

In several places on the map (which I don't have in front of me) there is a route of two gray segments and a route of one gray segment, but they are adjacent to each other. Do these need to be claimed separately or can I place three trains of the same color and claim a three segment route? Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
True Blue Jon
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb


Which routes are you talking about?

(Click on the picture for a bigger version.)
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Sampson
United States
Everett
WA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is not clear which routes you are describing as there are no double routes with different lengths. See map:



Keep in mind:

Routes go from city to city so you can always tell where they begin and end.

Grey routes can be covered by any color but you have to have a set of that color (no 1 red + 1 yellow to claim a 2 grey route).

There are double routes that are always of the same length. These are used with more players to keep the board from being overly competitive with larger groups.


If those comments don't help, could you specify specific routes you are confused by?

4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Boeren
United States
Marietta
Georgia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I agree, there are no double routes with different lengths.

If you're talking about one route from A to B and another from B to C, then those are different routes and must be claimed separately.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie Meister
United States
Peoria
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kansas City -> Omaha -> Duluth

Can I put three cars down and claim this route or must I do it on two different turns. ie, KC to Omaha first then Omaha to Duluth?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Baird
United States
Pflugerville
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmb
vidbot wrote:
Kansas City -> Omaha -> Duluth

Can I put three cars down and claim this route or must I do it on two different turns. ie, KC to Omaha first then Omaha to Duluth?

Different turns. You can only ever claim one "connection" between two cities per turn.
11 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
True Blue Jon
United States
Vancouver
Washington
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
vidbot wrote:
Kansas City -> Omaha -> Duluth

Can I put three cars down and claim this route or must I do it on two different turns. ie, KC to Omaha first then Omaha to Duluth?

Two different turns. Each route must be claimed separately and a route is between two cities.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eddie Meister
United States
Peoria
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for quick replies!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
U.S.A., Earth
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
^^ Indeed... claim one route per turn. Each route is defined by the having 2 endpoints in cities, and 1 to 6 rectangular spaces between them. Note that some routes are double routes, like Washington to NY where there are 2 ways in/out
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls