Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Cosmic Encounter» Forums » Rules

Subject: Mobius Tubes & Card Zap rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Shadow ruxer
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Played with a couple people and had a couple questions

1. Does mobius tubes free ALL ships from the warp or only the ones for the player that played the card?

2.Does power zap only zap ONE power or BOTH main players powers?

Thanks people! goo
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
1. ALL ships, of all players.

2. Cosmic Zap only negates a single power when it is used. Note that the power it negates does not need to belong to a Main Player; it can be used to zap allies or players not involved in the current encounter as well.
8 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AKQJX
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In addition, Cosmic Zap can also be played by you on your own power. This adds a quirky but valuable strategy for some powers, especially when they have their own flare card. There's debate about what's supposed to happen with being able to use the Wild part of the flare in that case, but as far as I know you can use it if your power is Cosmic Zapped.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
funbelievable wrote:
In addition, Cosmic Zap can also be played by you on your own power. This adds a quirky but valuable strategy for some powers, especially when they have their own flare card. There's debate about what's supposed to happen with being able to use the Wild part of the flare in that case, but as far as I know you can use it if your power is Cosmic Zapped.

There's no debate about that; you can definitely use your Wild Flare if you've been Zapped.

The debate is about whether the "Give this Flare to the alien named on it" Wild Flares actually get handed to their owners if the alien in question has already been Zapped at the time. If so, then a Zapped alien with such a Flare can use their one-shot Wild... and still hold onto the Flare. If not, then Zapping such an alien creates a window in which such a Flare can be used and discarded safely instead of going into that alien's hands.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
AKQJX
United States
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Interesting little whirlpool of effects there. I didn't know exactly what the debate was around, but it makes sense for that to be the center. It gets to the puzzle of whether your alien and your power are inseperable entities or not. I have no idea, but thanks for explaining.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Wheelock
Canada
Woodstock
New Brunswick
flag msg tools
badge
David Malki drew this!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
salty53 wrote:
1. ALL ships, of all players.


Holy crap. We've never done that... man, that would have changed things.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberta Yang
msg tools
There used to be an artifact called Warp Break that was basically Mobius Tubes except it only released one player's ships. It's not in FFG's edition, though.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Shadow ruxer
United States
Texas
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Well, there is a tech called warspace key, or something like that. That frees ALL of your ships only.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.