Christian Letourneau
Canada
St-Lambert
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, first game tonight, continuing tomorrow morning, this ia a really close one and we paused on this issue. Russia attemps to use its on per turn ability to enter a city with an army and sacrifice it to copy a tech. This action is cancelled by the writing resource ability. Can Russia use another army to try again as the first attempt was not completed or has the failed attempt used the once per turn ability? I would say the latter but we spent like 6 hours on the game already and would not want to end it on a rules interpretation mistake!

Thanks!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El-ad David Amir
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The Writing resource ability cancels *city actions*. Russia moving into an opponent's city is not a city action. The only way to stop it is to stop the figure from entering the city (via Communism or using a Culture card that kills flags).
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
chuck dunn
United States
Memphis
Tennessee
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
what he said
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Letourneau
Canada
St-Lambert
Quebec
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Oops, there are a lot of things to pay attention to god dammit

Thanks, Spain will be mad about this, she is losing the tech race!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
El-ad David Amir
United States
New York
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Duguayduguay wrote:
Oops, there are a lot of things to pay attention to god dammit

Thanks, Spain will be mad about this, she is losing the tech race!

Never take the first 2-3 games too seriously ;-)
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Hammond
United States
League City
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The green tech card correctly says "city action" the rest just say "action" but it only cancels city actions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ricardo Donoso
Brazil
RIBEIRÃO PRETO
Sao Paulo
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ANd note that if you use any means (culture card or spy and communism) to stop the movement, Russia will NOT have used his once per turn power, so, he can still do it with another figure.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.